We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Sarasota
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   4309 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    25
    19
    33
See reviews for
32
25
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was the worst motel experience I have ever had. The place was extremely shady and run down. We had to change our room 3 times! The owner was very rude to his employee and did not want her to help us with switching to a non smoking room. Then we got locked out of our room, The key scanner broke. We had to wait hours for them to change the lock. My uncle had booked and paid for our stay on priceline.com and they took our card just for any damages. When we got back home they charged us, as well as my uncle. When I phoned the manager to check on why we were charged, he started yelling at me about how they run things there and that they don't keep a record of payments so he would not help me. By far the worst customer service ever!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

shower/tub - filthy (didn't shower because)
tv not work
light bad
towel rack broke
negative experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked this through hotels.com as it was the most affordable hotel we could find in the area. (There was a big event in St. Pete and it was Spring Break) You get what you pay for; upon arrival the bathroom and sink area had little sugar ants coming out of the drains, the phone didn't work at all, they gave us the wifi code for the hotel next door (which didn't work), there was no hot water the first day/night we stayed, the first morning we watched them escort a bum off the property that they had found sleeping out back, and the pool was disgusting and unusable. The free breakfast consisted of corn flakes, oranges, and cinnamon buns you could heat up. (We took one look at the set-up and drove up to Dunkin Donuts) Would not recommend this hotel unless you are ok with sub-par service (we requested extra towels a few times before we ever got them) and less than acceptable room conditions. We made it work but only because we really didn't have a choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMmaggieA, Manager at Super 8 Sarasota, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello, We are sorry to hear of your issues during your recent trip.
Certainly you understand that we cannot cancel a reservation without hearing directly from you, especially during a sold out period like when you were traveling.
If you ever have changes in you travel plans in the future, Super 8 and all hotel chains toll free numbers, please protect your self and either call the hotel directly or the toll free number yourself.

Also, all Super 8s are independently owned, so activities at one Super 8 do not transfer to another.

Please give us another opportunity to meet you during your next trip to Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in 2 Super 8 motels on way to Florida our last one we made a reservation in the Sarasota Super 8 on Tamiami Trail. Unfortunately our car had problems and we had to stay an hour away in Tampa at midnight. We found a Super 8 there and told the desk clerk our dilemma he did make several calls to the Sarasota super 8 to explain we could not get there, and to cancel our reservation and we were staying in Tampa Super 8 they never answered the phone. The next day got the car fixed, and called the manager Chris and she was very rude and said she could not refund our $99.68 even though we stayed in another super 8. she said she would talk to the owner and call me back, of course she didn't call back, so I called Corp office explained the situation they said they would check into it and gave me a ref number and said they would call back before march 25, they did not, just called them march 26 and they did nothing said the manager at the hotel would have to take care of it...It;s ridiculous they could of at least gave me a credit for a Super 8 room on my return trip..I will never stay at one of these ever again, and the 2 that I did stay at in Jasper Tennessee and Tampa Florida was not that good, just a place to sleep, ran down really bad.

Room Tip: Don't stay at any Super 8....most are ran down, and if corp office can't help why have a cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Super 8 of Sarasota was a pleasant stay. The room was quit cozy. The surroundings were pleasant. Room was clean and neat. The restroom was clean and a decent size. Check in was fast and courteous. Would stay again when in the areA.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sarasota

Address: 4309 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Sarasota 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Super Eight Sarasota
Sarasota Super Eight
Sarasota Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.