We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarasota Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sarasota Suites to your Saves list
Sarasota Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7251 N. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243 (Formerly Suburban Extended Stay Sarasota)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Udon Thani, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here in April for 5 nights. Got to see the old rooms as we walked to our room and glad we were in the newly remodeled room. I can see this place being really nice. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Will return.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Lantern Inn and Suites is formerly known as Sarasota Suites. There is a new owner and management staff. They are currently completing a renovation. This will be done in June. All the rooms are being completely redone. New everything. New updated cabinets, fixtures, EVERYTHING. I love the tile flooring. Granite countertops. The owner's are onsite all the time making sure guests are happy and have what they need. Even with some construction in some of the rooms the noise was minimal and not disruptive to our stay in the least. Even the construction personnel were friendly. Across the street as a great family owned restaurant that will give you a discount if you show them your room key. I stayed at the hotel with a large group of friends. We had 15 rooms in all. We had full access to the pool area, the BBQ grill and the covered patio to enjoy our cookouts and socializing. This is a lovely location, close to the airport and Sarasota Marina area. We will be staying here again next year and every year after for our annual visit for sure.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

New owners and new great staff.Thanks to the new owners this hotel has done a complete turn around for the better.Very nice and clean rooms.My husband and i can not wait till next March to return we will be back keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Great place to stay and great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Some of my group have been staying here for years and it was cheap, cheap, cheap and crappy. So we were excited when we heard it had been sold and had new owners. We we happily surprised by just how friendly The staff and Jim the owner were. The hotel is under construction, but it in no way disturbed our stay. I booked 15 rooms and they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and they made sure we were all in the new room. The room a lovely and all have new everything from new tile floors, refurbished bathrooms comfortable beds and new appliances. Loved the pool and bbq area too. We will definitely be back next year. thanks for making us feel at home

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed there from March 18th to March 27th. We stayed in a remodeled room. Not only it exceeded our expectations it was an experience of a lifetime. Having tile floor was a bonus coming from the beach we would bring sand in the rooms. In carpet you don't know if a room is really clean. Front desk staff was very pleasant. They recommended several restaurants nearby. We stayed in room 239 it was beautiful. I've already booked the hotel for our next visit. Will definitely return.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

New owners &staff are great.very friendly & helpful. So much different than our stay last couple of years. We have been coming here since 1984. After last year we thought we would'nt be back,because of the bad staff & condition of the rooms. Fortunately we heard new owners took over, so we tryed it,and love the newly remolded ,very clean rooms. Very friendly, nice people, it's been a pleasure being here. We highly recommend the Lanturn Inn. We'll be back next April for sure.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

New owners Jim and Pah of the now lantern inn suites have been renovating the rooms in this motel since the end of Jan 2015 all are not done yet but moving quickly The completed rooms are in excellent condition new bathrooms and all tiled floors. The staff is very friendly. We had a great stay there and would recommend this motel. This is the 4th year we have stayed there and the very best one yet Thanks so much Jim and Pah. See you next winter Snowbird family Bob and Sharon

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarasota Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Suites

Address: 7251 N. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243 (Formerly Suburban Extended Stay Sarasota)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sarasota Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sarasota Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Suburban Extended Stay Sarasota
Sarasota Extended Stay
Extended Stay Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarasota Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.