We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ritz always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Wonderful property in Sarasota area. We enjoyed a nice weekend and the signature Ritz attention to details during our short stay. From welcome cookies in the room to toys for the younger guest. The beach club although packed on a Saturday afternoon was very nice and a good compliment to the main hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    270
    121
    47
    32
See reviews for
292
443
25
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We visited for 12 nights in July . On arrival we were a little disappointed that the club room we usually upgrade to was now £100 extra per night and that there was now a 'resort fee' of $24 per day, any way we love the hotel and club level so we just agreed and went for a drink in the club bar. Very shortly we were greeted by Damian the manager who asked us if we were happy with everything, after some fact finding by Damian we were looked after unbelievably well even to the point that our little girl was invited twice to the hotel kitchen to bake her own designer cookies ( thanks lynsey) which were then delivered to our room as a surprise. The new restaurant Jack Dusty is a great addition and the hotel in general is much less stuffy however still keeps a first class feel. Thanks once again Damian and all the team, special thanks to Mirza in club who gave us a few fishing tips and was a genuine nice guy, well done all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We will shortly be making our third visit in three years. Fabulous hotel, great service from friendly courteous staff and in Sarasota ! Three out of three can't be bad. William & Margaret, London, England

Room Tip: Marina view 3rdfloor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times, but I must say that this visit was better than all those in the past.
It is clearly apparent that the staff have really stepped it up. The service has been excellent, from the restaurants to the car valets, they are all very friendly and cannot be more helpful. The concierge could not have done more for us, even for the most minor request. Epitomizing this brilliant service was Emily, the lady doing turn down service. She learned that we liked the chocolate left on the pillow and each night after that she would leave a heart or another pattern of chocolates on the bed with lovely personalized notes.
This is a first class hotel with a great gym and spa, and an amazing pool and beach club. A great vacation hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is the most expensive property in the Sarasota area. While the service is good (not great), the rooms are seriously in need of renovation. While not quite shabby, they are clearly dated, both in terms of their decor and their technology.

However, the biggest problem is food service. Like many of today's hotels, it has only one restaurant, Jack Dusty. While this restaurant has decent service and good food, it is used as a bar, an event venue, and tries to please everybody from kids who want a hot dog to individuals who would like to have a quiet dinner. It does not work!

We had business guests on one evening. Even though we changed tables twice, we were unable to carry on a conversation in a normal level of voice.

We are returning to Sarasota on business next week. We will not consider staying at this property again.

Room Tip: If you would like to have a quiet dinner in your hotel, stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien O, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Byrddawg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. I am very sorry to hear that our facilities and your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is a valuable tool so we can avoid any recurrence and to that end, if you can afford the time, please feel free to contact me directly at your convenience at 941-309-2001 as I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further.

Best wishes,
Damien O’Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

What a great 3 day vacation. The hotel was beautiful with service that cannot be beat. The staff treated us like we were family---even remembering us by name. The rooms were nicely appointed and had great views from the terrace. I usually don't eat meals in hotels and go to local restaurants. I did both on this trip and can say that their food was fabulous as was their service. Jack Dusty's Restaurant at the Ritz should not be missed.The fresh fish was incredible as were their crab cakes, and handcrafted cocktails. make sure you ask to have the plantain chips with your cocktail.
One evening they had baby lamb chops served in the lobby just because that's what they do at the Ritz!
One morning when we were just having coffee, the server at the coffee bar overheard me say, I just need a bite of something to take my pills. I did not want breakfast, a muffin or roll because I was going to have an early lunch. I was shocked when he brought over a small dish of oatmeal for me at no charge.... Now that is service!!!!!!
I will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Living in Florida on the east coast, sometimes you just want to get away in the summer - but island getaways for us are not appealing when you live in the tropics 365 days a year - but a quick drive to the west coast of the state takes you far enough away without the hassle and just enough relaxation to say that you got away. The Ritz Carlton generally never fails to deliver and this property truly delivers! The staff is truly amazing - extremely friendly, very personable, know your name after first day, and will do almost anything for you. We had upper floor room with club level access which is great when you have 2 younger kids. None of us are huge eaters, so its perfect for us and the Club staff is extraordinary. The hotel has a private beach club that is about 3 miles away - they have a shuttle that leaves on the hour - you cannot ask for a more pristine setting to relax. This is a property that you cant miss

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Address: 1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.