We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very delighted to share how much I enjoyed my stay at this Ritz Carlton location. Hotel grounds are beautiful, with a classic touch to the décor and ample space for those interested in walking around the premises. The building is within walking distance to a bunch of restaurants and bars.
Every staff member was beyond helpful during our stay. Our servers at the lounge were amazing and complied with every little request we had. Thanks to Emily, Karla, Amanda, Matt and Mizra for making it an extra special experience. Front desk attendants and the drivers who took us to the beach club were equally gracious and helpful. These people define customer service, and they should be commended for it.
Workout room was neat and organized. Was pleasantly surprised to learn that guests can use the spa as part of the amenities. Our room was always pristine thanks to the ladies who took care of the cleaning. We ordered room service late at night, and the food was incredible and arrived in a timely manner.
If you want to vacation without having to worry about a thing, I strongly recommend you invest in this hotel. It was a complete pleasure from beginning to end.

Room Tip: If available, try to get a room facing the water, otherwise you will be looking at the street or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    245
    111
    41
    30
See reviews for
271
406
25
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you are a frequent Ritz customer, you will be highly disappointed! We had to change rooms 3 times and finally ended up in an upgraded suite. There is no “good” view from this hotel, as we were reminded by guest services “we are on a bay not the ocean”. The first room had air conditioning issues (maintenance reminded us that Florida is hot), second one was on top of the parking garage and finally after realizing that all the rooms reflected a shoe box, we requested an upgrade to the suite. This room was beautiful with two bathrooms; living room, separate master bedroom and an adequate balcony overlooking the bay (do not expect to see the ocean at this hotel). This hotel had adequate to poor room cleaning, turn down service, room service and no attention to details, which we have come to appreciate from the Ritz. The “beach club” is a miserable 15 minute drive in a bus to the Ritz residence area on the beach. Here you are lucky to find someone to set up chairs and umbrella for you, and beach club service was non-existent. We realized on the second day that we were better off going to the liquor store and bringing our own drinks and snacks to the “beach club”. The service was horrible and inexcusable especially from a Ritz. The pool located at the Ritz hotel was decent. Someone decided that playing horrible swing music really loud was a relaxing thing to do. The first day we spent at the pool I ordered “fresh juice” which I was told; “I don’t think I can do that, see I have to go all the way up the stairs and ask the bar and they get really mad at us”. Not the experience we have had in the past and disappointing for the Ritz brand.

Positive aspects of the Ritz in Sarasota: We had a great experience with Kimmy and Joe at the restaurant, which as great food. The restaurant bar is great and the fresh juice and drink selection was great. Dean at the valet service was wonderful! He actually offered to take us to a local bar one night on his way home and showed us all the local food and hang out places around the down town area. That is the Ritz I remember. Finally the highlight of our trip was James at pool side service. We met him on the third day of our stay and he made the last 4 days so much fun. There was nothing James didn't see or take care of. He made everybody feel like they were important and special, always with a smile on his face!

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite, unless you like to sleep in a shoe box
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien O, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ticder,

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding our ladies and gentlemen and Jack Dusty Restaurant.

While I was pleased to hear you were provided with the fine service our Ritz-Carlton guests have come to know and expect on our front drive and at our Hotel Pool and Jack Dusty Restaurant and Lounge, I am sorry to see you were disappointed with our room views and location of our beautiful Beach Club on Lido Key which is located 3 miles from the Hotel that is situated adjacent to Sarasota Bay and downtown Sarasota.

Please accept my sincerest apology for any substandard service you experienced during you stay and any inconvenience our Beach Club’s location and complimentary transportation may have caused you.

We truly value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Damien O’Riordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was very happy with the cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms. The staff was very friendly. Grounds were very well maintained. I am certainly by no means cheap or frugal, however everything at this was extremely expensive and overpriced. It is pretty bad when you can buy a case of beer or a bottle of wine down the street for the price of 3 beers or 2 glasses of wine at any of their restaurants or bars. Any mixed drinks we had were averaged $12+. Food was expensive as well. A sandwich and chips averaged at $20+. However the Mahi Mahi Reuben at the beach club was AMAZING! Also be very careful bringing in any outside drinks as it is very frowned upon at this establishment. If it weren't for the beach club I would not be recommending this hotel. The beach club is what definitely what made this hotel worth staying at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien O, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Tim D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I was pleased to learn you appreciated the personalized service, cleanliness of the Hotel and your room and found your meal at our Beach Club amazing, I was very sorry to learn of the disappointments you described with respect to pricing and policy.

Please accept my sincerest apology for any frustrations you may have experienced during your stay. Your business is very important to us as we strive to provide the fine service and facilities our loyal guests have come to know and expect.

Best wishes,
Damien O’Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a business conference in February so apologies for the tardy review, just catching up!
This was the first time I had stayed at a Ritz Carlton so I had quite high expectations. The staff were friendly and I must admit very helpful. That said I am not sure if I would return to this hotel for a leisure stay as it is some distance from the beautiful beaches and although these can be reached by the hotel shuttle to the Beach Club, the actual location of the hotel itself is more suited to a business traveller. Rooms were a good size but nothing really very different to what you would find in hotel brands such as Hilton or Westin.
I flew into Tampa which is about an hours drive from Sarasota - transfers can be organised through hotel and it was a good service albeit pricy, but it does have the advantage of taking out the stress of hiring a car after a long haul flight, you can then just hire one for use locally.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We decided to drive up from Naples because we had heard great things about Sarasota. We choose The Ritz because of its brand name. Unfortunately the premium priced hotel was not much better than average hotel. The room we stayed in was tired for lack of a better description. Although it was small. The walls were thin so you enjoy the conversations next door. If you are into that. The restaurant was just odd both in the layout as well as the menu. Would not stay here the next time.This also changed my image of the brand name.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien O, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Bill W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. I am very sorry to hear that our facilities did not meet your expectations. Your opinion is very important to us.

Please feel free to contact me directly at your convenience at 941-309-2001 if you would like to discuss this further.

Best wishes,
Damien O’Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for a three nights with my wife at the end of a two week holiday in Florida. Have stayed at many Ritz Carlton hotels and this was up there with the best of them.
We had a large balcony and it was great to sit out for a glass of wine and enjoy the view.
The room was very large and modern.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant along with some cocktails, good food, good wine and a nice atmosphere.

The hotel provided a shuttle service to the beach spa, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Visit the beach spa, really nice beach bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had my reservations about going to the Ritz Carlton, since it isn't beachside. The hotel itself is right between a large intersection on the John Ringling Causeway and US 41. It's nestled in a large plot of land bayside. I must admit this had it's advantages as we weren't only staying here for the beach. We drove to several locations within Sarasota and this allowed us to have access to major roadway arteries.

When we arrived we found that there was a major prom reception being held at the hotel. The thought of having large quantities of teenagers commandeering the hotel quickly subsided as we found how large this hotel really is. There were several nice amenities like a pool, restaurant, game room, and the room had a large balcony from which we could watch the sunset.

The common criticism this hotel receives is the fact that to get to the beach (Lido Beach) you have to take a shuttle. I actually found this nice as the shuttle took us to the beach in a little under 15 minutes. The driver was very nice helping us with our gear and we actually arrived at a very upscale beach club.

There were wonderful private lockers all carved out of what looked like cherry wood. The Ritz has a private beach front with a pool, bar, lounge area and private chairs. It was great fun and relaxing.

The other advantage to the shuttle is that we could drink without fear of having to drive back and this was true of the local restaurants as well. The shuttle took us to St. Armand's circle and back.

Overall it was a great time. The only drawback for me was the price. It was a little overpriced for the value you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Address: 1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.