We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Union, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went on a vacation within a vacation, leaving the boys with the babysitter while on a trip to Florida, and headed to the Ritz for some time without kids. Its the Ritz so you know everything is going to be wonderful, and it did not disappoint. Wonderful service upon our arrival, answers to questions, etc., We had dinner on site at Jack Dusty's, swam late in the evening and enjoyed the Beach Club as well.

The pictures may have been a bit misleading or we did not pay close enough attention, but the hotel does not have a beach right on property. We knew where the hotel was located on the bay, so the beach pics seemed a bit curious, but figured maybe they put one in on the bay. Turns out those are the Beach Club over on Lido Key, which they take you to by shuttle. Its super easy and not a deterrent at all. In fact its a great because the shuttle also takes you to St. Armands Circle which is great. The Beach Club itself is also wonderful, with wonderful pool, great service on the beach. It made a wonderful vacation inside the vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for Marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    246
    111
    43
    30
See reviews for
274
410
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oakville,Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is our fourth visit to the hotel since 2010. It is our second stay at the Club Level. We stayed during March break . Prior to our visit we received an email from a Club Concierge, Scot Thrower asking us if there was anything special they could do for us. It was our daughter's 14th birthday,& she wanted to know if the hotel still had the cupcakes that she had during our previous stay. Scot replied that the cupcakes would be at the room when we arrived. We also inquired about reserving a spa day for my wife & kids. Scott said he would take care of it. The next day we received an email from another Club Concierge, Amber Tobias who confirmed the spa reservations, & dinner at Jack Dusty's ( the new restaurant) .

The check in process at the hotel was very quick & efficient. Kal , the front desk agent filled us in with the changes at the hotel since our last stay, particularly the new restaurant, Jack Dusty's which replaced the Verona.

We had booked a room with a City View but received an upgrade to Water view at no extra charge. We were very happy with this view since rooms with a water view are normally $50 more per night.

The Club Lounge offers an amazing selection of food & drinks throughout the day. At breakfast, there was smoked salmon, eggs, pastries, bagels etc. At lunch, there are sandwiches, salads, etc.

There are also hors d'ouevres , & pastries in the evening. The kids loved the cookies & candies.

There are chocolate deserts available at night.

There is also an extensive selection of red & white wines & beers available.

You could eat all your meals at the Club Lounge if you wanted to.

The quality of the food & service at the Club Lounge is excellent. Amber, Rina, Scott & Matthew were the Club Concierge's during our stay. They were very friendly & made sure that all our needs were taken care of. For example, there was a problem with the room keys. The cards get demagnetized if they are put in a wallet & don't work. The Concierges cheerfully replaced the cards when they didn't work .

We ate at the new restaurant Jack Dusty's. The restaurant replaced the Vernona. The difference between the two restaurants was like night & day. Vernona's ambience was like a library. Jack Dusty's is very sleek & modern with an outdoor patio. We ate there a few times. The seafood selection was very impressive. Service was excellent. The crowd is younger than the people who ate at the Vernona.

On Wednesday night, there was live music & dancing by the water near Jack Dusty's.

We also enjoyed the Tiki bar which is located at the beach. The Sarasota Breeze rum drinks were very enjoyable & the bar is a great place to watch the sunset. We had excellent service from Derrick. I enjoyed meeting some of the locals who were at the bar. The bar has a laid back atmosphere. The hotel should do more to advertise it.

During the day , we went to the beach club which is a short drive from the hotel. There is a wading pool & chairs at the beach. The beach club gets very busy during March break.

We were served by Lea & Philip, who very nice & friendly but they were very busy. The hotel should have hired a few more staff members to cope with the numbers of guests at the beach during peak season.

We also love the gift shop which has a great selection of clothes, art, souvenirs & candles. They even had an art gallery located in a wing of the hotel. We ended up buying a print from the William Wolk gallery.

One thing that ceases to amaze me about this hotel is that the staff would recognize us & remember our names & ask us how we were doing. We were happy to see staff from our previous visits like Dean, who is a valet . Dean is super friendly & we like to joke around with him.

By the end of the trip, we felt like we were staying with friends. We were very impressed with the quality of service provided by Amber, Scott, Matthew & Rina at the Club Level because they went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. I strongly recommend booking a room at the Club Level if you get a chance. It's worth the extra money.

This is without a doubt our favourite hotel & I can't wait to book our next stay there when we go to Sarasota.

PS. The Ritz was packed with Baltimore Orioles fans during spring training, so as Blue Jays fans, we were outnumbered:))

Room Tip: Book a room at the Club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I were in town at the Ritz for 4 nights for a company awards vacation. We had a 6th floor room overlooking the marina...very nice few. Service at the hotel was excellent. Everyone from reception, to the valets, to the house staff were more than just courteous and professional; they were extremely friendly and welcoming. The hotel's beach club was great and the staff was top notch there as well. Honestly, I can't think of even one negative during our stay.

Room Tip: Marina view 6th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Property is very beautiful, situated on a small harbor, off of the main water way. The orientation of the hotel seems slightly odd to me, I would think a 90 degree turn would have made for much better views, but really that is neither here nor there. The hotel is very nice, and very clean. It is decorated in a very classic style, which isn't my taste, but it is very nice.
The hotel had twice a day housekeeping which is very nice and the housekeeping did a great job.

PROS:
-very nice hotel
-Valet and front door staff were some of the most friendly helpful people I have ever experienced.
-very clean
-very friendly staff

Cons:
-mini bar was only restocked once in the 5 days I was there.
-gift shop has a very minimal amount of soda and snacks and all soda is cans. very motel 6 feeling.

Overall I think this hotel is very nice and I would definitely recommend this property for a vacation or business meeting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Went to Sarasota for a graduation and decided to spend a couple of days at the Ritz. The hotels was was beautiful,service was amazing. Upon arrival we were up graded to the 9th floor because it was a special anniversary the view was to die for. The room was on the small side but we'll appointed and very clean. The beach club which was a 5 minute ride was great.Beach and pool both nice with excellent service.The first night champagne and chocolate strawberries were sent as a anniversary present. The hotel provides a driver to take you to and from dinner,his name was Curtis and he was super helpful. My only negative was that turn down service knocked at our door at 6:00 and only asked if we needed anything from the cart, maybe hotel wasn't full and the housekeeper wanted to leave. I would highly recommend this Ritz!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The rooms are very comfortable, spacious, the bed was very comfortable. I was surprised to hear so much hallway noise and traffic noise though. The pool was relaxing yet small. The beach club is very nice, although the pool area was very crowded around a shallow pool. The shower locker room was very nice. It would be nice if there were more options for breakfast for those who do not like eggs and can not stomach at $12 bowl of oatmeal. The Orlando Ritz had much better service in my opinion,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien O, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear FloridianL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and our Beach Club and sorry to hear of the exceptions you described during your holiday stay. We value your constructive feedback and are reviewing plans and taking action to improve the breakdowns you have mentioned.

Best wishes,
Damien O’Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. We stayed on the club level. The concierge was very helpful and helped us reserve a cabana at the beach club. The food offerings throughout the day were very good. Some of the foods were consistent but others changed each day to keep us interested. The attendants in the club room were friendly, helpful and efficient.

We had a room overlooking the bay with a balcony. I loved sitting out on the balcony each morning and night. The room was very clean with plenty of room. We had a room with two beds. The beds were moderately comfortable. Although the bed linens and pillows were nice the beds were a little saggy and lumpy. They had a feather pad on top of the mattresses it didn't help much.

The bathroom was spacious and beautiful with marble floors. A little disappointing that 2 of the marble tiles appeared yellowed right by the toilet.

The property is just beautiful and well kept. There is a pool onsite that is nice as well as ping pong tables and an arcade in the lower level.

If you stay at the Ritz Carlton you have access the to The Beach Club on Lido Key. You can drive there or take a shuttle that leaves every hour on the hour for The Beach Club. The Beach Club is wonderful. There are plenty of attendants who help with anything you need. They set up chairs and umbrellas on the beach or by the pool at your request. The beach is beautiful. The pool is large with a zero entry. Very family friendly. There is a large hot tub as well. We payed for a cabana and it was well worth it. The poolside food was great.

We will definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Address: 1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.