We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond belief” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service beyond belief”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A top notch hotel in every way.
Impeccable service, delicious food, fun amenities, great location, high end finishes
concierge knew the answer to every question we asked
fantastic wi fi
Be sure to take the cruiser bikes out for a spin - the bikeway along the pier is easily accessible and beautiful to see

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    223
    102
    38
    30
See reviews for
250
372
24
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel is a very typical Ritz. Great service & quality. Restaurant prices are a bit steep. The negative here is there is no beach, but they do shuttle you there hourly. Many thanks to Javier Olivos for all his help & wonderful local recommendations!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Send, Surrey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a room with a sea view. The hotel was beautiful and check-in speedy. Our room was large, very clean, well appointed and had a large balcony with lovely views across the marina.

The hotel restaurant - Jack Dusty's - was great for dinner. Food, cocktails, wine & service were all great. Other reviewers have mentioned that they found the place a little causal for a Ritz-Carlton - but we found the relaxed atmosphere to be just what we wanted. It felt very comfortable. The food is of a very high standard - with beautifully prepared seafood dishes at the heart of the menu. The food was definitely high quality and befitting the brand.

We also ate breakfast at Jack Dusty's which was equally good for service and food.

We found overall the restaurant was a relaxed and enjoyable place to eat - and better than many stuffy and pretentious hotel restaurants which lack character or charm.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room with a balcony. Perfect for a morning coffee or evening G&T.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We just go back from the Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota.
OMG! I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel.
The room was spacious, clean and so welcoming. We had a great view of the water, nice to look at in the morning.
The Hotel was gorgeous, the staff was so nice and welcoming.. I never felt like I was disturbing anybody when I had questions about amenities.
We were even lucky enough to find some staff member that spoke french and were happy to have a conversation with us, just basically AMAZING...
I recommend this hotel to anyone and I will surely try to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and felt the service and hotel were lovely. My only criticism would be the rooms overlooking the pool have constant noise from the air conditioning units nearby, even when the windows are closed. We didn't eat at the hotel but used the shuttle bus to eat at St Armand's circle. We would recommend The Blue Dolphin for breakfast on the cur or - excellent food. The beach club was lovely with superb service especially the guys on the beach setting up the loungers and taking food/drinks orders. My son declared the chicken tenders from the beach club were the best he'd eaten (and he had a few during this holiday). Overall a lovely experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just returned from week at the Ritz Sarasota. Great beach club and hotel. Hotel staff typically goes beyond the customary to make you feel welcome.

Extra positives- door staff particularly Dean. He should be promoted. Makes you feel like you've been friends forever. Asks a few questions and then makes fabulous recommendations for restaurants or activities.

I had a mishap on day #1. Somehow door knob broke in bathroom and I was locked in. Horrifying! However, with a call to the front desk through bathroom phones, three engineers quickly resolved issued and let me out. Hotel staff contacted me few times later that day to make sure I was ok. Made me feel good.

Disappointments - Didn't know full details of hotel car service. Wasn't made aware of this benefit initially. When we originally learned about it, our driver ---not sure if his name was Charlie--was very negative. Gave 30-year olds a lecture about using shuttle and said he is not a personal driver--we never said he was. Made it seem like drive was worst part of trip. Spoke to adults like children.

I LIVE on a beach when on vacation. Proximity is very important to me. When I called two months ago about the beach club location, I was told shuttle come very half hour. Not really like that. Comes every hour. Felt a bit misled.

Overhaul, amazing experience enhanced by friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The title isn't meant to be a dig either. It's pretty much what you expect. Nice property with friendly staff. The beach club (five minute ride away) is very nice with great menus (prices were very good too) and lovely beach. The room was an older room where the shower and tub were one, but that's just because the property is older. Overall, great stay and it's five star. I gave it only 4 because the pillows were foam and had a bad night sleep. Be sure you ask for feather....lesson learned.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
Family-friendly...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#12 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
6.3 mi away
Tropical Shores Beach Resort
Tropical Shores Beach Resort
#4 of 13 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Free Parking, P...
Show More
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 47 in Sarasota
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Address: 1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.