We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putting on 'The Ritz'!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Putting on 'The Ritz'!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and felt the service and hotel were lovely. My only criticism would be the rooms overlooking the pool have constant noise from the air conditioning units nearby, even when the windows are closed. We didn't eat at the hotel but used the shuttle bus to eat at St Armand's circle. We would recommend The Blue Dolphin for breakfast on the cur or - excellent food. The beach club was lovely with superb service especially the guys on the beach setting up the loungers and taking food/drinks orders. My son declared the chicken tenders from the beach club were the best he'd eaten (and he had a few during this holiday). Overall a lovely experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    223
    103
    38
    30
See reviews for
250
372
24
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just returned from week at the Ritz Sarasota. Great beach club and hotel. Hotel staff typically goes beyond the customary to make you feel welcome.

Extra positives- door staff particularly Dean. He should be promoted. Makes you feel like you've been friends forever. Asks a few questions and then makes fabulous recommendations for restaurants or activities.

I had a mishap on day #1. Somehow door knob broke in bathroom and I was locked in. Horrifying! However, with a call to the front desk through bathroom phones, three engineers quickly resolved issued and let me out. Hotel staff contacted me few times later that day to make sure I was ok. Made me feel good.

Disappointments - Didn't know full details of hotel car service. Wasn't made aware of this benefit initially. When we originally learned about it, our driver ---not sure if his name was Charlie--was very negative. Gave 30-year olds a lecture about using shuttle and said he is not a personal driver--we never said he was. Made it seem like drive was worst part of trip. Spoke to adults like children.

I LIVE on a beach when on vacation. Proximity is very important to me. When I called two months ago about the beach club location, I was told shuttle come very half hour. Not really like that. Comes every hour. Felt a bit misled.

Overhaul, amazing experience enhanced by friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The title isn't meant to be a dig either. It's pretty much what you expect. Nice property with friendly staff. The beach club (five minute ride away) is very nice with great menus (prices were very good too) and lovely beach. The room was an older room where the shower and tub were one, but that's just because the property is older. Overall, great stay and it's five star. I gave it only 4 because the pillows were foam and had a bad night sleep. Be sure you ask for feather....lesson learned.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The location is one of the nicest hotels in Sarasota- Long Boat Key area. SInce it includes residences the place has some life to it even when it is off season which is great.

Since it is not surrounded by other high rises it has great views from most rooms. Water surrounds over most of the place. Additionally it is so convenient to the airport it makes it a breeze to get there without delay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west and avoid a north facing room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We just got back from a nice long weekend in Sarasota staying at the Ritz. There were many wonderful things about our stay and only a few not so great things.

Wonderful: the Beach Club at Lido Beach. Love, Love, Loved it! The shuttle leaves every top of the hour to take you to this private beach. It took 10 minutes tops. The beach is gorgeous and the amenities were amazing. We walked right out to the beach and attendants are there waiting and ready to get you chairs, umbrella, drinks, food, whatever you need! We spend two of our days there and loved every minute of it. Definitely go during your stay if you can!

We also enjoyed Jack Dusty's for drinks and desserts. The toffee pudding is so good! I want to give a shout out to Kimmy, our server one evening, she was extremely attentive and helpful.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet one morning and while it was good, it was pretty pricey for breakfast.

The not so great: We were there over Memorial Day, so it was packed. We were celebrating our 17th anniversary, but had a room with 2 double beds, so that was kind of a bummer.

We were very surprised to open the bathroom cabinets and see that the inside was completely unfinished, as in, concrete floors, drywall, etc. We didn't say anything until the last night and then thought we'd just ask about it. The front desk worker told us that the bathrooms were designed that way, which I found very hard to believe. Why would the design be unfinished? Then, he proceeded to tell us that all the rooms were like that and we weren't missing out on anything. That wasn't why we said anything about it and I found him to be very condescending. I waited until someone different was working and brought it up to her and she said that the rooms were in the process of being redone. That made more sense to me! She was at least nice about it and understood why we wondered (we also showed her a picture we had taken on our phone and her eyes got really big!) Maybe our bathroom looked a little worse?

So, only a few minor things, but it prevents me from giving this Ritz 5 stars. We've stayed at several Ritz locations and this one was just slightly under Key Biscayne and San Francisco in my opinion.

Would we stay here again? Yes, for the location and for the Beach Club. I just won't be storing anything in the bathroom cabinets...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The service and the attention from the staff is excellent. The beach club is a huge benefit for this hotel. The hotel driver provided a convenient way to get to dinner or to the near by circle. Our only complaint was the room. The room was a little dated and our room was on the third floor, right next to a very loud air conditioner unit. We could not use the balcony. The hotel was at least 1/2 full, would have been nice to have been assigned a quoted room, maybe with a view.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at the Ritz and it was fabulous. I was there for business and under a lot of stress. Overall, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were attentive and checked me in quickly to a great room. I was very pleased to have a room with a wonderful view and an extremely comfortable bed.

The wait staff in the restaurant provided top notch service during each dining experience - and the food was outstanding. I was able to eat, drink and work comfortbly in the dining room and catch a great view. The wine selection was wonderful and competitive with the local restaurants in downtown Sarasota.

The gym was great as well and offerred a great selection of cardio equipment. Water and towels were available and I thoroughly enjoyed my morning workout.

Returning is a definite!

Room Tip: a view of the water offers a great breeze on the patio in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Address: 1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.