We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star or even 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star or even 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Noisy, loud in hallways at night, very thin walls. You hear toilets and elevators all night. The place is being remodeled. Every night, the small bar was taken over either by groups or owners from the Ritz condos attached. The beach club is very nice however and the location is great for access to downtown Sarasota. The employees were mostly helpful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    271
    121
    47
    32
See reviews for
294
448
26
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cound
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I went to The Ritz for the first time for Xmas, our anniversary (married in Sarasota 21 years ago) and New Year and were really looking forward to this. Given some of the comments about building work we checked with the hotel before we went on the status of this work and were told it would be finished by the time we arrived and they expected to open the new restaurant on the 1st January. It wasn’t finished (very minor drilling after Xmas) and it certainly did not open on the 1st January. The only minor irritation as a result of this work was the smaller bar and restaurant area.

The good points about this hotel are:

• Great friendly staff from the time you arrive at the front door and the “valet” takes your car, to pleasant reception staff, efficient and helpful concierge staff, excellent bar staff and good pool staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they made an effort to remember your name which is always a nice touch.
• The hotel public areas were extremely nice.
• The bedroom was great with a good view and kept very clean throughout our stay with turn down service each night.
• The wifi was free at the hotel and at the beach club.
• We were able to get transported to a few restaurants which was very helpful.
• We were in walking distance of a number of the downtown restaurants.
• We took the car to the Beach Club some days and were not charged – it was complimentary!

The not so good points are:

• The pool are at the hotel itself is OK for swimming but with no sun until about 1PM it was not a place we really wanted to be.
• The pool at the Beach Club was very disappointing. It was not possible to swim in this as it is far too shallow and we like a swim.
• Although we knew there would be children there the pool was full of them with seemingly no rules or management – various ball games, diving (well jumping), adults drinking in pool etc.
• The hot tub had very young children in it, so not a place we wanted to relax.
• The furniture at the pool and on the beach was quite frankly in poor condition and some beds were dirty!
• No cabanas either on the beach and for a hotel of this standard that was poor given some of the other properties on the beach did have.

However, even amongst some of the negative comments made we did thoroughly enjoy ourselves and the acid test is “would you go back again” to which the answer is yes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

First room assigned to me had a terrible odor throughout like someone had died there! Second room was offered immediately; it was just fine with an especially beautiful harbor view but why wasn't first room condition reported to manager by housekeeping crew?
Pre-arranged dinner for Xmas Eve was a disaster from the moment we were seated to the very end of our meal and complaints to the restaurant manager went unheeded. We never received several menu items that we selected and would never recommend "eating-in" here.
Room Service breakfast was super and so was restaurant breakfast on Xmas Day.
There was a continuously mismanaged encounter with the valet parking crew that caused us to be late for other appointments in Sarasota. Overall, a disappointing and very perplexing experience for weary travelers who hail from San Francisco.
Bigmama.

Room Tip: Don't plan to travel too far from home during Christmas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

They do it right here, as they do at all Ritz. Good location, and access to town within walking distance. There isn't a formal dining room, and all meals will be in the only dining room, or outside on their patio facing the harbor,

Room Tip: ask for a room facing north towards the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

There is a reason this is the number one hotel on this list. You are made to feel special as soon as you are offered a hand to alight from your SUV. This was one fun several days of a slumber party! My BFF ordered room service that was out of this world....never failed to disappoint! Also, the resteraunt was wonderful...the waiter went out of his way to make an off the menu beverage for me. The beds were like sleeping on clouds and having a DVD player hooked up to our massive flatscreen made for several fun movie nights! The Ritz ROCKS! (we had planned a spa day but got too lazy in the room or shopping but I heard it was tops!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Truly world class in a delightful, easily navigable city offering a tremendous variety of activities. True it is not on the beach nor on a golf course, but its walking proximity to cultural, artistic and charming restaurants, as well as a delightful waterside park make it a great stay. And, if it is the sand and club that draw you south, they are available. The staff is top notch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and can highly recommend .Its a high class hotel but its also very warm and welcoming.The beach club is a bonus with excellant shuttle service.
The blue dolphin in St Armands circle does a brilliant breakfast!
Cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Address: 1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.