We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently enjoyed a "Mother/Daughter" trip to the Ritz in Sarasota and had an absolutely wonderful time! We were lucky enough to take advantage of a deal they were offering and got to stay on the Club Level which was an experience enough in itself! If at all feasible, do yourself a favor and book a club room - you will not be disappointed!

Hotel/Grounds: This Ritz location actually consists of 2 distinct properties - the actual hotel and the Beach Club. We elected to not rent a car and just took a taxi from the airport which was about a 10-15 minute ride. The hotel itself is located on the Bay and is your typical Ritz property with a grand lobby, floral displays, and a refined décor. It's smaller than some of the other resort properties but certainly not lacking in any amenities. There is a pool at the hotel (with poolside service) but I will say that the one at the Beach Club is nicer. I did also notice a ping pong table and small arcade area for kids on the ground floor. There are also several evening activities held during the week, mainly the live music in the Ca d' Zan lounge which was quite the experience! They were getting ready to start a renovation of this space shortly after we left so I'm not sure if they are still offering this, but make sure to check it out if they do!

The Beach Club is only a few miles away and there is a complimentary shuttle that runs hourly. We had no problems with the shuttle service - it was always on time and the drivers were extremely friendly and helpful. The shuttle also makes a stop at St. Armands Circle (about halfway between the hotel and the beach) which really made a car unnecessary for us. The Beach Club is a gorgeous property complete with a restaurant, pool bar, and well appointed locker rooms. There is a large pool with ample seating along with direct beach access. This pool tends to get a bit more crowded than the one at the hotel, but the overall atmosphere is definitely more relaxing.

Room: As I mentioned, our room was on the Club Level with a decent view of the harbor - I don't know if there are any truly good views at this hotel due to the location. The room itself was fairly large with ample space for all of our luggage. Everything appeared well maintained and very clean and we had absolutely no complaints!

Service: The staff was wonderful and extremely professional (as expected). We were always warmly greeted by the staff members in the lobby and the Club Level staff was always checking in to make sure there was nothing we needed and that there were not any issues. The shuttle drivers were outstanding and really made the effort to learn the faces and names of everyone on board.

Food: Since we were staying on the Club level and are fairly light eaters, we ate most of our meals in the Club Lounge which offers 5 meal presentations daily:

Breakfast - Breakfast was a fairly standard spread of assorted cereals, breads, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, and deli meats as well as a few hot options including oatmeal, breakfast potatoes, and a rotating specialty item. Champagne was also available most mornings to make your own mimosa.

Lunch - This was probably the "heaviest" offering of the day and included assorted sandwiches, salad, cheeses, chips, and crudités. Everything was very fresh and refilled often and we were more than pleased

Afternoon Snack - This was the lightest presentation of the day consisting of assorted nuts and cheeses along with the same chips that were available at lunch.

Dinner Appetizers - There was a decent variety of appetizers offered while we were there. There was always a small salad, some type of seafood "shooter", assorted breads and cheeses, a hot option (chicken skewers, bite-sized quiches) and a few other items. Everything was always pretty good, but I did wish they would offer a healthier or lighter option such as crudités or marinated vegetables

Dessert/Cocktails - Small desserts and liquors were offered in the evenings and certainly offered enough variety to please any sweet tooth!

In addition to the food presentations various soft drinks, water, coffee/tea, and wine (beginning around lunch) were available throughout the day along with assorted cookies and jars of candy. We really enjoyed the lounge, especially the wonderful staff members there. Elena in particular provided exceptional service and we looked forward to seeing her every afternoon! She really treated us as if we were family, not just another hotel guest.

Gym: The fitness room was well appointed with a variety of cardio machines and free weights. It did feel slightly cramped though and many of the cardio machines were marked as being reserved for residents (probably a bonus for them). Overall it met our needs but wasn't designed as nicely as other Ritz properties.

We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely consider this hotel again for our trip next year!

Room Tip: Be sure to take a look at some of their package offerings - you can often find a great deal for an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    223
    103
    38
    30
See reviews for
250
372
24
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg,sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

From the moment you arrive ,you are treated with exceptional sevice by exceptional staff. The property is very well appointed with gorgeus views of the bay. Rooms are large , bathroom is of good standard, but it would be nice if there was a separate walk-in shower.
Club Lounge is amazing, italian inspired decor , very classy but comfortable.
Love, love the beachclub , try the key lime colada, very yummy.
Thanks Ritz for making our day so special, special thanks to Katie, Totte , Clare, Casie.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svenfly2
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel itself is located just on the land side of the bridge to the beach. The hotel provides a shuttle to the pool/beach area, which is about a 10 minute drive. The staff was very attentive, polite, and friendly. The room was nice and quite, lovely balcony overlooking the water. The best part of the hotel in my opinion is the pool/beach building. Free valet parking, everyone seems to know your name which was amazing. They even remembered the name of my kid throughout our stay. The locker rooms are very nice, roomy, and clean. The pool is unreal, the main pool being in the middle. On the right is a 1ft deep kid pool/area which was great for our child. On the left there is hot tub area. The beach is a 1 minute walk and is cared after by great staff that will make sure you have everything you need.
Our initial concern was the beach being a drive away, but it's absolutely no issue even traveling with little kids. Overall, great stay and location, exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a fabulous place,it's paradise! The Tiki bar is our favourite place to go great atmosphere and drinks......those 2 bartender guys are the bomb!! great team!! Love this place,perfect for everyone, all kinds of everyone there just having fun in the sun.......You must go if your visiting or living in sarasota!! Best place in town!! see u guys on sunday for sunday funday!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I took my daughter and four grandchildren to the Ritz Carlton for a night and the whole experience could not have been better. The staff was absolutely wonderful and it is a very family friendly hotel. The restaurant food was outstanding. The pool area was beautiful. We had a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just came back from a wedding in Sarasota and had the opportunity to stay at the Ritz! What a pleasure! From the moment we pulled-up we were greeted and treated special. Upon entering the lobby we had champagne to start our fun weekend. Our room was on the 9th floor and over looked the marina and Lido Beach!

The bus driver Tom was just so nice. Over at the beachclub we were greeted by Larry and Amanda and they couldn't have been nicer! Amanda made a great dinner choice at the Shore Diner in town!

It was so nice to stay someplace where you felt like you were special!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We met our good friends at this hotel over the Easter holiday. The hotel lobby, valet and front desk experience were all stellar. The hotel room was decent. Shuttle service to beach and St Armands Circle, very helpful! Pool and beach service were very slow. Beach club locker rooms were out of everything.It was a holiday weekend, they were clearly at max. capacity. So I was willing to give them a break and try this resort again. During low season. Like, really low season. JULY IN FLORIDA low season.

So, a friend flew down to meet me for a girls weekend.
Our room was nice w/ the exception of these few things....1) peeling paint on bathroom ceiling 2) hole in wall from the doorknob 3) the man in the room next door that decided on a sunday morning he was going to conduct an entire church service at the top of his lungs. his service woke us at 7:30 am & ended at 9. My friend and I are both busy working moms. Kids and pets wake us up early every day. We were really looking forward to sleeping in during our girls weekend. Oh well.

After I left the property I realized I left my wrap in the room. I called the hotel and told them exactly where it was. Housekeeping " never saw it" . I spoke to the security director and he was going to" look into it". Never heard back from him. Basically they thought I was crazy and there was no wrap to be found. On a whim, I responded to the form email they sent me re:my stay. I heard from the spa manager over a week later. She found it & mailed it to my home. I'm thankful for her help!

I guess I just expect more from The Ritz Carlton in general. They say they are a luxury hotel. Some of their properties indeed are, but when they are off, they are WAY OFF. Consistency would be nice. They sure do charge enough for The Ritz "experience".

They should take some lessons from the Four Seasons.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Address: 1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.