We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Hit the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was here on business in the off-off-season (August), and had one of the best values for a Ritz stay for a long time -- about $150/night.. Service in the rooms, banquets and restaurants was up to expected Ritz standards. The sole reason I rate this as a 4 rather than a 5 is that the location is somewhat removed from the ocean. The hotel does a good job making up for this by offering shuttle bus service to a pool facility they have on the ocean, but the separation diminishes the resort atmosphere. I advise this is good for business anytime. However, I would probably try to stay at a genuine resort during the high-rate peak season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    246
    111
    42
    30
See reviews for
274
409
25
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Amazing is all I can think of right now! Everything from start to finish was top notch - nothing overlooked. The grounds, the food, the interior layout - spotless and delicious! An elegant hotel, but not stuffy - the staff was exceptional. I told my husband this is the first hotel we've stayed in that I felt completely safe and comfortable...slept like a baby. Seriously, I wanted to grab the bellman's leg as we were packing the car to leave so he could drag me back into the hotel. This is truly a real 5 star hotel. Congratulations on a great job Ritz Carlton! We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I attend a business conference at the RC-Sarasota every year, and what I love the most about staying there is not the gorgeous room with bay view, or the elegant decoration in every aisle or conference room, but it's definitely the service. RC's staff is the friendliest, most helpful staff I've ever seen and experienced. You leave that hotel wanting to come back and feel like a king for a couple of nights again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with view to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Amazing hotel in good location. It is everything you would expect from a five star hotel. We had two Water view rooms and the view was great as were the rooms. The whole hotel is gorgeous as is the Beach club and the Golf Club. The staff are very helpfull and attentive but for the best service make sure you tip them well.The restaurant is fantastic and well worth a try but very expensive as is everything at the Hotel. My only criticism is the Bar. On the night we arrived we went in for a drink at 11.30 pm on a Friday night to be told they were closing and we couldn't have a drink. - Not the service you expect as a paying guest at a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: High floor - Sea view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchestry Cty, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently stayed at the ritz, in a suite with the family. The room was well appointed, large and comfortable. We were on a low floor, with a "city" view, so basically our view was the roof of the low rise portion of the hotel. We were an early check in , some took what was available,the views of the bay are great on the other side. Service was great, good attention to details, including a dessert tray for the kids. While the property is in need of a few updates to the rooms, all in all,the price was great, and the service, world class. The beach club is a highlight of any visit.

Room Tip: Beware of low floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Despite a few signs of wear, the rooms are beautiful as are the common areas. The Breakfast buffet was wonderful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a lovely view of the water. If you can find a parking space on the drive leading up to the hotel, parking was free but otherwise valet parking was needed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel was just not on the same level as others we have visited. While the room was pretty much like the other Ritz Carlton, we had trouble with the sink and the shower tub draining properly. And on our first morning, we discovered a rolled up old bandage in our bed. NOT ours. Pretty disgusting. The beach is kind of far away, and even though they had a shuttle service, it was more than just '4 minutes away,: as they claimed. There was no complimentary coffee in the lobby or anywhere else like at the Naples' RItz Carlton and others. The staff, while friendly, just did not impress me. It was ok, but no better than the Marriott or the Embassy Suites, etc. The one good thing was the food at the restaurant on the beach complex. It was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Address: 1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.