We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“5 star service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

we had a 5 day holiday with two couples and felt as though nothing was too much for the staff members throughout the ritz facilities. everyone seemed to love their job from the beach club shuttle driver to the breakfast waiter to the golf concierge. the hotel is not beachfront which is one of its only detractions, but once you arrive at the beach club its mini-resort-within-a-resort feel and full service, it isn't a problem.

cons: location away from the beach, slightly outdated room/balcony decor (although clean, and large marble bath), not much "adults-only" areas if not travelling with children (including at 11pm on the dancefloor in the lounge)

pros: first-rate service by every staff member, great quality food on-site and fair amount of choice, lovely white sand private beach with full-service beach club, free transport to their members golf club, shuttle service to St. Armand's Circle so everyone can drink and eat at dinner without worry, nightly live music in the large bar/lounge, awesome tiki bar on the beach which hasn't been ruined by hotel ownership

ask for a waterfront room facing the harbour, the view is better than those in the same catagory looking out the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour-facing waterfront rooms are better than those facing front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    271
    121
    47
    32
See reviews for
294
447
26
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

All around I felt this hotel did a superb job. The wait-staff, the hotel check-in, the valet parking, were all top notch. Our room was not ready when we arrived. We headed to the pool and I found the pool service to be lacking, others did not have that experience and that makes it even more troubling; "hey they were here way after us and they have their drinks and towels." We had a minor medical emergency and the staff assisted us supremely well and that hiccup caused us to leave earlier than we would have liked, otherwise great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at the Ritz Sarasota last month (5/5/12) for one night, as we were in town for a friend's wedding. The location was great and we enjoyed the convenience of the beach club. Our enjoyment stopped there. Every single staff member we encountered seemed lethargic, uncaring, and simply lacking that "Ritz" intensity to make you feel pampered/welcome. We had to ask for everything: towels at the pool, towels at the beach club, to order drinks, to order food at the outdoor "burger bar", etc. Why am I asking to be served was the resounding question in my head. Valet service was slow, no one offered to assist with luggage, seemed as though they were doing us a favor in bringing around our car. Very disappointing. The waiter in the bar was rude and short when we asked if we could get more blue-cheese olives. Stating simply, "we are out", seemed unlike a typical "Ritz" answer/solution. We have stayed in multiple Ritz properties over the years, and this was by far, the worst experience to date. We left feeling as though we had stayed in a mediocre Holiday Inn vs. Ritz Carlton. To top it all off, we left comment cards (with suggestions on how to better service), and also contacted property directly. 6 weeks and counting and still nothing from this property in terms of "how can we make this better for you next time?", etc. Quite shocked by this. We will continue to stay in Ritz properties, however, never again in Sarasota.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The good: The room was nice had a good water view (canal) and was comfortable over all.

The disappointing: hotel does not have parking, you are advised to park on the street if one is lucky enough to find a spot otherwise its 25 per day for valet .Wifi is an extra 9+ dollars daily
Cabinets in bathroom are unfinished when the doors are open you see only cement floor see pics. Trim on door missing big piece of wood snags clothes see pics

Overall okay for business but not for vacation, have to drive to the beach.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, ma.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Ritz and absolutely LOVED IT!!!!!. The Hotel is beautiful, the service is
superb. Our room was top notch, with a balcony overlooking the harbor. The hotel has beachfront property on Lido Key, and provides a shuttle to it.
If you are staying in Sarasota, definitely stay here! We can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have stayed at many Ritz Carlton's in the U.S. and Caribbean and the Sarasota Ritz is not a disappointment. From check in to a cold drink at the beach club it was fantastic. We opted for the town car service to take us out to the beautiful beach club. Shuttle bus service looked like a nightmare.

The beach club is what you would expect, opulent and luxurious and service that anticipates your needs. Its always fun to shop and dine at St. Armands Circle and dining at The Columbia Restaurant is a must.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor and view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Ritz Sarasota offers a wonderful family vacation. We met our extended family here with three young children in our group and had a fabulous family getaway. We booked a club suite with a pretty view of the bay and hotel lawn (see pic). The club lounge at Ritz Sarasota is excellent and among the best. The club lounge space is very large and has a lot of outdoor seating. The club is the perfect place to casually meet up with large groups like our big family without having to coordinate. The club staff was wonderful and the food was delicious and abundant. We dined at all the restaurants and ordered in-room dining and enjoyed everything and had great service. We love the hotel pool and the game room after lazy days at the beach club. We don't mind taking the shuttle to the beach as it adds to the vacation adventure! The beach water is clear, the sand is soft and beachside chair service is top notch. We sent our son to Ritz Kids for a half day and he enjoyed it and so did we : ) This is a wonderful, laid back family friendly, not-crazy-expensive vacation. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: this is one of the best Ritz club lounges so book a club room and indulge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Address: 1111 Ritz Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.