We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Friendly People, Clean & Comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Sarasota, FL 34240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Warm & Friendly People, Clean & Comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Nestled on the Southeast side of I-75 and University Parkway is this hidden gem of a hotel. The lobby is light and airy with plenty of places to sit together or apart, chat or catch up on a digital device. The restaurant and bar serve good food and drinks. The rooms are clean and comfortable and well-stocked with towels of all sizes. Most enjoyable are the professional people who work here. They are warm and friendly. You'll feel welcome and right at home here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We love our guests and hope you will come back soon. We are very proud of our hotel and what we have to offer. The new University Town Center Mall will open next to us in October offering our guests many more restaurant and entertainment options

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    40
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
28
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland City, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This little hotel in Sarasota Florida was just about like going to a luxury hotel. What a welcome respite to return to after 16 - 20 hours a day, 7 days a week while on assignment for a few months several years ago. I will never forget the inviting premises & the most interesting & enjoyable Alamo Restaurant on site that I was able to enjoy on Sundays. I do not do Holiday Inn any more unfortunately after over 10 years of devout loyalty to them when they did me wrong. However, I can say nothing but good about this little hotel in Sarasota, Florida & its Alamo Grill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nice modern hotel with everything you could want. A little on the outskirts of Sarasota,
but only about a 15 minute drive to downtown and then over the bridge to the beaches.

Staff were all very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are excited to announce that the New University Town Center Mall will be opening next to our hotel in October this year. It will add more restaurants and entertainment to our fantastic exit off I 75. Please come back to visit again

Rob Ferguson
Corporate Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyHorizon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was a very nice hotel and my first Holiday Inn in a very long time. Everything was clean and new looking. Staff was helpful and let me check in very early because my room was ready (unlike some hotels that stick to their posted time thus creating a long line). The only thing I didn't like was the shower. There was no tub. Instead around the corner from the sink was a walk in tiled shower room of sorts. The shower head seemed old and the water pressure was poor. Just an odd design all around. The toilet was on the opposite side tucked in its own alcove behind the door. No breakfast included but there is an attached restaurant which I didn't try. Easy access off 75 with shopping and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your feed back. I am sorry the front desk did not make you aware that we have rooms with bathtubs or with stand up showers. You can request these rooms when you make your reservation or at check in.

We also offer rates with or without breakfast so you have a choice, rather that it being included in your rate at our limited service hotels. (no such thing as a free breakfast!)

Please let me know if I can help in the future

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very nice entrance, restaurant and lobby, better than most Holiday Inns I have seen. Rooms were decent, breakfast was good, and the price was right. Very clean. Very small pool, and a small but acceptable gym. It was convenient to 75.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and I hope you enjoyed your stay
Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I just can't say one bad thing about this place. And I usually have some constructive criticism for EVERY business. There are 5 star ratings and here's why every property should mimic the Holiday Inn Lakewood Ranch:

1. Ambiance & Amenities - This is by far one of the best Holiday Inn properties I've been to, ever. It feels like a high end hotel in the way the decor, design and layout of the property. Very nicely decorated, modern with a warm, homey feel, it's how a hotel should feel.

2. Convenience & Safety - Lakewood Ranch in itself is a beautiful, great area, but even some of the nicest properties can be just shy of the seediest neighborhoods. Not the case here -- this place is beautiful, with great conveniences like Publix, Walgreens and other handy stores right within walking distance. I was in town for business but wished I would have brought my bike for a ride around Lakewood Ranch Blvd. I felt safe in the parking lot after coming in late from my fitness class and there is a security guard on property. If you're hungry, the Alamo restaurant has a great amount of variety to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner all at great prices. Try the chili and blacken burger, it was delicious! Just a hop from I-75, there's a huge shopping center with everything from Bone Fish Grill to Marshall's to Pier One.

3. Comfort & Productivity - Once I checked into my room, I was so impressed with the room and the view I was more than happy that I would spend my next 4 days and 3 nights here. I booked a two-day meeting and that's usually where I'm let down. Either by the accommodations for meeting space, the service of the team or even the restrooms not being serviced for 80 people in a timely manner. This property was so on top of everything and gleefully doing their job, I swear I thought I was at a full-service convention property with the attention and professionalism. The room was large enough for my 75 attendees, the a/v was set and ready for me as I requested and my sales contacts checked on me periodically during the meeting even though they had staff manning the room to refresh coffee and stuff. Other properties need to take plenty of notes on how it's done. The internet was consistent and strong for not only my personal needs but my meeting needs.

4. Service - I didn't have to lift a finger and their team did it all with a smile. The team here greet you even if they're not working on your project. That's how good customer service is supposed to be.

5. Overall care - I can't say more about this property other than I will return and I've even added Lakewood Ranch as one of my top cities to live in. There's plenty of great things happening and coming here and I'm excited I was introduced to this property. Great for families, I saw plenty of them on our last day (Friday) so I'm sure they'll enjoy their vacation. You'll enjoy this hidden treasure. Trust me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, you'll rise and shine in bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Not in the epicentre of anything, but this is a great hotel to stay at. Quiet, self parking, friendly and fast staff (we called about a beeping smoke detector and within 5 minutes everything was taken care of). Entertainment revolved mostly around the really drunken hotel guests we encountered during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We really appreciate your review of the Holiday Inn Lakewood Ranch and had to laugh at your comment about our entertainment! As you mentioned we are just off I 75 with a fine selection of shopping and restaurants within a mile from the hotel. Publix, Walgreens, Chilis, Pizza Hut, Quiznos, and others are a short walk across University Blvd, but far enough to make sure you get a good nights sleep. We are definitely NOT located on the exit ramp like several of our competitors.
The front desk would be happy to guide you when you return. Also, the new University Town Center Mall will be opening less than a mile from the hotel in October this year.

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Address: 6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Sarasota, FL 34240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 Holiday Inn in North America and in the Top Ten for 6 years running. Completely Remodeled In 2008! Step into luxury at Holiday Inn Lakewood Ranch hotel. These boutique smoke-free Sarasota lodgings, close to Bradenton Airport, championship golf courses, Sarasota Polo Club, and proximity to I-75 corridor feature fine, upscale amenities and lavish touches. In all of our guestrooms, you ll find new Dynasty beds outfitted with premium sateen sheets. Enjoy complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, and the ability to send documents to the printer in our hotel s onsite Business Center. When it s time to relax, you have plenty of entertainment options with our pristine lake view pool and spa, miles of walking trails, authentic Alamo Steakhouse and Grill featuring bison steaks, Certified Angus beef, fresh seafood, and enjoy cable and movie channels on your in room 32-inch LCD HDTV. And for your convenience, there are microwave ovens, refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, lighted vanity mirrors, and hair dryers in every guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.