We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two excelllent stays within a March fortnight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Sarasota, FL 34240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Warwick
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Two excelllent stays within a March fortnight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After staying here every year since it was opened, we stayed twice within a fortnight. My wife requested an unscheduled return before we checked out. Soothing, calm and displaying quality in every way, the hotel also offers good access to the sea (45 minutes away) and is close to I 75. The only snag is the pillows which are small and fat. The staff are very helpful and the Alamo restaurant provides big meals of good food on a admittedly limited menu. This year, we experienced a weekend restaurant manager who explained that wedid not have to have a big meal but they would either allow us to share or would cut down the amounts so we did not feel overwhelmed. This has transformed my wife's attitude towards eating in the restaurant towards being more positive!

Room Tip: Be specific if you'd like a tub/bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive response. The Holiday Inn standard for the full service hotels had been the labeled soft and firm pillow. I am in agreement that you either love them or dislike them. That being said, the standard has changed and we ordered the new full size pillow, that should be in any day.
I hope you will come back just to see them!

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    40
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
28
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Holiday Inns usually fall into one of two categories. Old and dingy or updated and nice. This was closer to the latter. Very nice looking lobby with an attached restaurant. Waterfall display in the lobby with plenty of comfy seating. The room was generally nice and roomy. The bed I was in was not very comfy and the pillows left a lot to be desired. Free wifi was nice. Very nice bathroom, very roomy and upscale. Free coffee in the lobby in the mornings. The restaurant was good but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks so much for evaluating our hotel. I am sorry you were not overjoyed by the restaurant as we usually see rave reviews, especially from our locals. I hope you will come back and try something new. Please stop by and say hello the next time you are in the area

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and looks clean - The rooms are smaller than a nearby holiday inn - The pillows are like the sie of my head - the bathroom tub has mold - I am in room 510 corner unit if management replies - I also have 2 double beds for 2 adults -

Bottom line - not feeling the love and this is my 200th hotel in 1 year

Room Tip: There is another holiday Inn close by near the airport - choose that one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I am so sorry you had issues with the room and that we could not move you to a similar room type. The Holiday Inn standards for pillow has changed and the new, much larger pillows are ordered and should be in soon.
Please try us out again if you are coming to Sarasota soon

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about my overnight stay here. Nor do I have anything extraordinarily fantastic to report. The place was clean, wi-fi was free, and the front desk gave me a free toothbrush when I told them I had left mine at home. I guess this is the minimum I expect to receive when staying at a place like this for the price I paid. I didn't consider it to be a bargain, but then it may be hard to compare as there are few, if any, other similar places to stay in Lakewood Ranch proper.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I am so sorry we did not WOW you during your stay. As a Torchbearer hotel, we always try offer a great guest experience. Please let me know when you are coming in the next time so we can make it up to you

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgaw
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week. The on site breakfast was well prepared each day, with loads of fresh fruit and oatmeal, as well as the usual breads, pastries, eggs and bacon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When my GPS wouldn't locate the Total Wines store, the desk clerk printed a Mapquest for me, without being asked. The grounds were well kept and clean. The location is very close to some nice restaurants and shopping.
My only complaint was the lack of soundproofing in the room. Fortunately, our neighbors were not loud people, but when they came into their room, we could hear their conversation and they were speaking in normal tone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and the review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your business

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Usually stay at Choice Hotels, but the group I was with chose this Holiday Inn. It exceeded my expectations. Very attractive lobby, meeting rooms & guest rooms. Liked having shelves in guest room. Wi-Fi was user friendly & fast. Liked having refrigerator & microwave in guest room. Would definitely recommend to others. Our group got a special rate, but otherwise it is more expensive than I usually book. Convenient to I-75, but not so close you have traffic noise. Very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many, many thanks for this review. We love it too!

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Clean, New, Nice, Friendly. So very nice. GREAT LOCATION. I don't have a single thing to complain about! Clean, New, Nice, Friendly. So very nice. GREAT LOCATION. I don't have a single thing to complain about! Clean, New, Nice, Friendly. So very nice. GREAT LOCATION. I don't have a single thing to complain about! Clean, New, Nice, Friendly. So very nice. GREAT LOCATION. I don't have a single thing to complain about!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
WOW,
I love this! Thanks so much!

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Address: 6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Sarasota, FL 34240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 Holiday Inn in North America and in the Top Ten for 6 years running. Completely Remodeled In 2008! Step into luxury at Holiday Inn Lakewood Ranch hotel. These boutique smoke-free Sarasota lodgings, close to Bradenton Airport, championship golf courses, Sarasota Polo Club, and proximity to I-75 corridor feature fine, upscale amenities and lavish touches. In all of our guestrooms, you ll find new Dynasty beds outfitted with premium sateen sheets. Enjoy complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, and the ability to send documents to the printer in our hotel s onsite Business Center. When it s time to relax, you have plenty of entertainment options with our pristine lake view pool and spa, miles of walking trails, authentic Alamo Steakhouse and Grill featuring bison steaks, Certified Angus beef, fresh seafood, and enjoy cable and movie channels on your in room 32-inch LCD HDTV. And for your convenience, there are microwave ovens, refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, lighted vanity mirrors, and hair dryers in every guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.