We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and very clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Sarasota, FL 34240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Burgaw
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great staff and very clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week. The on site breakfast was well prepared each day, with loads of fresh fruit and oatmeal, as well as the usual breads, pastries, eggs and bacon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When my GPS wouldn't locate the Total Wines store, the desk clerk printed a Mapquest for me, without being asked. The grounds were well kept and clean. The location is very close to some nice restaurants and shopping.
My only complaint was the lack of soundproofing in the room. Fortunately, our neighbors were not loud people, but when they came into their room, we could hear their conversation and they were speaking in normal tone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and the review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your business

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    39
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
28
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Usually stay at Choice Hotels, but the group I was with chose this Holiday Inn. It exceeded my expectations. Very attractive lobby, meeting rooms & guest rooms. Liked having shelves in guest room. Wi-Fi was user friendly & fast. Liked having refrigerator & microwave in guest room. Would definitely recommend to others. Our group got a special rate, but otherwise it is more expensive than I usually book. Convenient to I-75, but not so close you have traffic noise. Very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many, many thanks for this review. We love it too!

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Clean, New, Nice, Friendly. So very nice. GREAT LOCATION. I don't have a single thing to complain about! Clean, New, Nice, Friendly. So very nice. GREAT LOCATION. I don't have a single thing to complain about! Clean, New, Nice, Friendly. So very nice. GREAT LOCATION. I don't have a single thing to complain about! Clean, New, Nice, Friendly. So very nice. GREAT LOCATION. I don't have a single thing to complain about!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
WOW,
I love this! Thanks so much!

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Was hesitant when our usual Marriott brand hotels were all full in the area. Thankfully Fairfield Inn and Suites Sarasota-Lakewood Ranch kindly referred us to this hotel which was nearby and close to I-75. The stunningly beautiful lobby with fountain was a complete surprise. We did not realize that not only are the Holiday Inn Expresses updated and well done, but this "standard" Holiday Inn was equal too or better than the Fairfield Inn and Suites and other Marriott brands we have enjoyed on our travels.It had a very competitive Sr. Rate, and was less expensive than those closer to downtown Sarasota. The room was beautiful, spotless, and the free breakfast was yummy. I have now signed up for the Holiday Inn rewards program, and will be watching for more of these beautifully updated Holiday Inns. The 800-Hol-iday phone assistance was so helpful in making the last minute reservation--I couldn't have been more pleased with this choice to stay at Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive feedback! We really value your business and appreciate you taking the time to write this

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Standouts are the cleanliness and decor in the rooms, including shelving as well as a bureau, tables, seating, make up mirror and walk in tiled shower. Wi-Fi was very fast and plenty of outlets. Room included microwave and refrigerator. Front desk staff was courteous but not overly welcoming. No concierge. Outdoor minimalist pool. Coffee was available in the lobby in the morning, but not tea and the coffee was not out until 6:30 am when the restaurant opened. People sitting impatiently in lobby waiting for coffee. Breakfast is not included. Lucky pelican restaurant around the corner is excellent seafood restaurant and many restaurants and shopping in immediate area. Close to the interstate. Bar is walled from lobby so not as inviting as in some Holiday Inns. A negative was that the parking was full because of a meeting and hotel guests had to park in the shopping mall nearby. Would suggest the hotel reserve space for guests and have short-term meeting participants park in shopping mall. Overall a clean, pleasant hotel in a convenient location but not as welcoming or accommodating as some.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello,
Thanks so much for your review. I am truly sorry we did not exceed your expectations and hope you will give us the chance to try again in the near future. February and March are our busiest months and it seems like you were checked in by someone who may have been overwhelmed that day.

We have a multi award winning hotel in as great area so I hope we can win you back one day.

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My Wife's extended Family came for a Reunion at the hotel and could not have been happier with the results. Besides the great rooms, Katie (Catering Director), Rob (Director of sales), and the service staff made our event a magical evening. Great food, great service, and a great atmosphere. I'd recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the Sarasota area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
OMG,
Your family are the nicest people on this planet! Thanks sooo much for the kind words! We miss having you here already. You allowed our staff to shine and thanks for trying out the Alamo Steakhouse here at the hotel for at least a few meals.

Katie and I will never forget the stories from New York Hotels. Please come to see us soon!

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were here for an overnight stay. I didn't expect much it being a Holiday Inn - many of my past experiences in Holiday Inn's throughout the USA have been mediocre at best (if anything, I try to avoid them and stay at a Marriott or Hilton). To my delight, the hotel and rooms were immaculate and decor up to date. The check in area and front sitting area had a vibe like a W Hotel. The rooms had nice TV's and toiletries from Body Shop - nice touch. I would definitely stay here again if I happen to be in the area. An added bonus, the Alamo restaurant had great food (4 of us had dinner, delicious prime rib dinners and pinot noir).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferguson, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank You for your positive comments. I will be sure to pass them along to the rest of the staff. Not a week goes by without hearing... "WOW this is a Holiday Inn!. With the Holiday Inn brand relaunch a few years ago, many of the older, underperforming Holiday Inns lost their flag as many new Holiday Inns were built.

I hope you will return to see us soon.

Rob Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Address: 6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Sarasota, FL 34240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 Holiday Inn in North America and in the Top Ten for 6 years running. Completely Remodeled In 2008! Step into luxury at Holiday Inn Lakewood Ranch hotel. These boutique smoke-free Sarasota lodgings, close to Bradenton Airport, championship golf courses, Sarasota Polo Club, and proximity to I-75 corridor feature fine, upscale amenities and lavish touches. In all of our guestrooms, you ll find new Dynasty beds outfitted with premium sateen sheets. Enjoy complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, and the ability to send documents to the printer in our hotel s onsite Business Center. When it s time to relax, you have plenty of entertainment options with our pristine lake view pool and spa, miles of walking trails, authentic Alamo Steakhouse and Grill featuring bison steaks, Certified Angus beef, fresh seafood, and enjoy cable and movie channels on your in room 32-inch LCD HDTV. And for your convenience, there are microwave ovens, refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, lighted vanity mirrors, and hair dryers in every guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.