We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but disappointing after-- service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Sarasota, FL 34240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Warwick
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel but disappointing after-- service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

A favourite hotel although when we arrived one of the double beds in our room had not been made up to completion this time. Air conditioning a bit fierce and noisy too. Breakfast in the Alamo restaurant very good although there was a long delay one morning. Used their very nice guest laundry and drier.
Unfortunately, we left my wife's new flight socks over a chair so had to ring up later that day from our next stop not too far away. No ring back after I rang twice to ask for a search on that Friday and on the Saturday, I didn't get a sensible call back (they hadn't been found) till Monday. Very lackadaisical. Like some other US experience shows, flight socks didn't/
don't seem obviously known about! Can be easily mistaken for cheap pop socks we think.
At a later Holiday Inn hotel, they told us that they bagged everything left behind in rooms, tagged it and kept it for 60 days!
About 45 minutes drive from the coast.

Room Tip: Worth checking which way the room faces and whether both bath and shower are provided. Laundry and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Vicky249,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you like our hotel location and had a good experience at our restaurant. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service from our staff which was unacceptable. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    43
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
30
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Lincs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed there at the middle of March. When we checked in we were given room 225.....there's NO view of the lake, because of a big palm tree in the way! When I asked for a different room,....... they said they were full and couldn't help !So we were there for 3 nights with NO view! When I came to check-out, the male receptonist was rude, arrogant and most unhelpful!!!!!This is one Platinum Holiday Inn member who won't be going back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear jonlite,

I was disappointed to read your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry the hotel was unable to accommodate your request for a view, they do make every effort to honor requests. I was sorry to hear staff services did not meet your expectations. We will review with the staff to avoid similar situations in the future. Please accept my apology on this issue. We hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, NYS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

A beautifully decorated hotel with a friendly and efficient staff that is minutes away from the top beach in North America, Siesta Key. In addition, to the hotel's great restaurant and bar there are several fantastic restaurants a very short drive from this Holiday Inn. This hotel also features a nice pool and fitness center.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed a week at the Lakewood Ranch Holiday Inn. We were very pleased. The location was good, close to grocery stores, a Target, restaurants, and a convenience store/gas station. The staff was always very kind to us and especially kind to our children, which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This Holiday Inn is wonderful. Very clean and the staff is super nice. We were there for a business trip but definitely would return in the future. The restaurant attached to the hotel has good food at a good price. They even allowed for a late check out which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I went to Lakewood Ranch to look over some properties because we are thinking of moving there. We stayed at the Holiday Inn for 2 nights but I was a disappointed. First of all this is the first Hotel I stayed in that had plastic water cups. We left the room about 10:00 am and returned at 5:00 pm. To my surprise the beds were not made and the towels were still left in the bathroom. I had call room service and told them about the room. They did not seem to surprised. They said they would try to send someone up. I told them that I didn't want them to come until we left that I would make the bed myself......But asked if I can have some more towels as the other ones were wet from the morning. Towels were delivered and I handed the lady the used towels. In addition to all that our room was outside the ice maker which we heard making ice all night. At least Bandit60048 was offered breakfast..........

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We had our wedding in the Osprey hall and it was just right. The service was great, that accomadations they provides were all good. The food was excellent. If you need a small place to have your family to share ina special day Holiday Inn should be considered.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch

Address: 6231 Lake Osprey Drive, Sarasota, FL 34240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 Holiday Inn in North America and in the Top Ten for 6 years running. Completely Remodeled In 2008! Step into luxury at Holiday Inn Lakewood Ranch hotel. These boutique smoke-free Sarasota lodgings, close to Bradenton Airport, championship golf courses, Sarasota Polo Club, and proximity to I-75 corridor feature fine, upscale amenities and lavish touches. In all of our guestrooms, you ll find new Dynasty beds outfitted with premium sateen sheets. Enjoy complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, and the ability to send documents to the printer in our hotel s onsite Business Center. When it s time to relax, you have plenty of entertainment options with our pristine lake view pool and spa, miles of walking trails, authentic Alamo Steakhouse and Grill featuring bison steaks, Certified Angus beef, fresh seafood, and enjoy cable and movie channels on your in room 32-inch LCD HDTV. And for your convenience, there are microwave ovens, refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, lighted vanity mirrors, and hair dryers in every guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lakewood Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.