We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for night life” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   811 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location for night life”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We found the receptionist to be very unhelpful. Room very basic but clean corridors smelled a bit musty. It's a 5 minute walk to down town where we met really friendly locals. Cannot remember the name of the bar but they had bands on day and night it was next to the car park may have been Norma jeans. Would stay here again but only for the location

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    15
    7
    16
See reviews for
8
18
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Sarasota was not part of our original plan.We booked a hotel for 2 nights and for the 2nd time had to cancel the 2nd night because the first hotel sucked! We ended up here. The room was GREAT! Very clean, very spacious. We had our own poolside patio. Everything in the room worked for a change. Free Wi Fi, Free breakfast. They supplied us with a coffee pot, The location is close to the beaches and great restaurants. The islands off the coast of Sarasota are way more interesting than the Florida Keys. The shopping was great, the beaches incredible , expecially on the Siesta Key. Armands circle is a great place to wander and shop. This hotel was a nice place to come home to at night. They work very hard to make sure its clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again should I go back to visit Sarasota.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager01339, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank You for your wonderful review. We hope that when you visit Sarasota, Florida you will stay with us again.

Thank You
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we found our room to be cleaner than most higher priced hotels. The manager went out of her way to make our stay pleasant - gave us tips about the surrounding area, even though she was very busy. The breakfast was good - nothing spectacular, but nourishing and well presented. There was a grocery store right across the street, where we picked up supper, cooked it in our microwave and put our drinks in our fridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We needed a room the Friday after Christmas and were really in a bind since we tried about 20 hotels that did not have availability. We found this one for $69.99 and figured we better take it. It was pretty bad, especially for that price. There was no elevator that we ever found to the 2nd floor where our room was. There was a stench in the hallways and in the room. The whole time I was really worried about bugs but luckily never saw one--whew! I had to move the nightstand to access the only available outlet. The shower was all right; it had an updated shower curtain but the water pressure/temperature were not the greatest. There was only one small bar of soap without any shampoo or any other toiletries. There was a hair dryer so that was good. Breakfast was very sparce. There were 4 tables in a very cramped space and a choice of 2 cereals, waffle, or toast. They do not accept the Americas Best Value reward program so if you stay here you won't get a discount, upgrade, points, or anything else with the program. This is not somewhere I would stay again. We were so desperate so I'm glad we found a place but it was not good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

very friendly staff and clean rooms. I have stayed at this hotel many times and never had a bad stay. I will only stay here when in Sarasota. The grounds are well maintained. Maids are very friendly. I will tell all my friends and family about this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel has great potential if some upgrades were done. Most important suggestion would be to eliminate the smoking rooms. Paint the hall walls and renovate the bathrooms.
The rooms that face into the pool have a nice appeal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

my room was clean, everything worked fine, A/C, good shower, comfy clean bed, nice pool. Oct2013 they are in process of replacing carpeting. Right next to Publix supermarket, safe & walkable part of town. For a basic, relatively cheap hotel in SRQ, this place was just fine.

Room Tip: pool-side rooms have patio/balconies. Don't miss Roadside Rib Shack 1/4 mile south on Bahia V...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 811 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is clean and comfortable not fancy but in a great location in downtown Sarasota. 4 miles to the award winning Seasta Key beach, 3 miles to St. Armonds Circle, and 4 miles to Lido Key beach. All local attractions including Ringling Museum of Art, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Mote Aquarium and Hundreds of restaurants are less than 5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.