We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of yesteryear” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Beach Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Save
You added Gulf Beach Resort Motel to your Saves list
930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Big Rapids MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Memories of yesteryear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ok I'm maybe not quite that old, but this is a very quaint place to stay. It's not the Ritz, but the location is right on the beach and each room is individually decorated so it's very unique in that regard. Rooms are small but functional as you should spending your time on the beach, or visiting all that Sarasota has to offer (Armand's Circle, Opera, Ringling Musuem, etc.) If I am to go back to this area, I will likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms directly face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We take pride in the uniqueness of our property and the feeling of yesteryear. We work hard to maintain our historical ambiance and pass on the feeling of a home away from home when guests vacation here. Most of our units do have fully equipped kitchens which makes it easy to grab a quick breakfast or lunchtime snack while still being able to enjoy our private beach. It also sounds like you took advantage of the various activities that Sarasota has to offer. It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to when you can return to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    76
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
51
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toms river
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Love the area completely! Clean quiet so much too see.gulf has clean rooms clean beaches great location will be goin next yr.again can walk almost to downtown from here or the desk will call you a ride.thanks to Greg for finding us a room for one more nite when we screwed up our reservation on Memorial Day weekend.thanks Sharon&Brian M.
So much to do in walking distance always a breeze from beach especially @ night...gorgeous sunsets...

Room Tip: Restaurants less than ample All rooms were good from what we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm so happy that we were able to accommodate you for the extra night. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach as well as the other activities that are close by. St. Armand's Circle is a short walking distance from our property and offers a large variety of shopping and dining experiences. The downtown Sarasota area is just minutes away from Lido Key and is easily a short cab ride. It also offers a large selection of unique restaurants and shops. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you return to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We checked in on May 30, 2013 in room 113... It was without a doubt the most horrible experience of our life.. Rust, mildew, broken blinds, electrical cords strung out in bedroom and living room.. Tile floor, our feet were filthy after walking on the floor. The patio was rusty, and the lock was broken on our door... Luckily for us, we checked out and I told the person checking us out about how horrible it was, and she said "well our quaint little motel" isnt for everyone" really???? If we could have found somewhere else to stay for that night we would have and it was not for lack of trying. I was also told that lots of people request that particular room.... Ok they can have it. Bed sheets had holes in them....My husband even complained, and he never complains about anything!!! I told her that even with the Fl discount, the room was not worth it!!! She said "so I suppose you want me to take some money off of your room..... " Uh yeah!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Had we known how displeased you were with the room the night before we would have been more than happy to move you to another room that may have been more to your liking. I went in and inspected the unit after you left and was unable to verify some of your complaints, however, we will continue to strive to keep our rooms in excellent condition. I believe it was mentioned that we are a "unique" property and not to everyone's liking. I also believe that several other hotels in the area were recommended to you that might have been better suited to your needs. I certainly hope that you were able to find other accommodations on our beautiful island that met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed two nights here on our recent holiday. The location could not be bettered and you are virtually on the beach. The staff we encountered were all friendly and willing to help. The decor in the rooms was a little bit dated but our room was very clean and other than sleeping we didn't spend a lot of time in it. Bit disappointed that there was no tea or coffee in the room. Most of the rooms have outside seating areas behind mesh screens. Presume this is to keep bugs out but it did make the rooms look a bit like cages. The hotel website is great, it has a plan showing all the rooms so you can actually view your room and see where it is prior to booking. Thought this was a nice touch. The gulf beach resort is surrounded by plusher hotels but it all depends what you want to pay. If you are looking for something a bit more basic but in exactly the same location as the, so called plusher resorts, then this place will take some beating and represents excellent value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I appreciate your positive input about our web site. We have tried to make it informative and easy to navigate. Most people like the privacy our screened porches provide while still having the feeling of being outside. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beach and also take advantage of everything our area has to offer. We are kind of nestled in between the high rise condominiums and hotels, but I think that is what makes us unique. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Gulf Beach Resort and absolutely loved it! As others mentioned, it is so clean! Our condo was decorated very cute and "beachie." The kitchen was well equipped; everything you need!
The beach is steps away and is very nice and clean.
Also, the staff, housekeeping especially, were so gracious and accomodating.
And the price can't be beat.
We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff take great pride in making everyone's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. A special thank you to you for mentioning our housekeeping staff. Most of our staff has been with us for many years and a guest's comfort is very important to them. Thank you also for mentioning that we do have affordable rates. We strive to make a beach getaway affordable for most everyone. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for our son's wedding...it was great neat and clean! Beach was right outside our room. I love this place go and stay....you will not want to leave we didn't lol. Thanks the Bodtmann family.

Room Tip: Room 103 is were we stayed..it has everything private patio,grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel and share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.It was a pleasure having your family members and friends stay with us and enjoy your son's wedding. Since our property is right on the water every room is literally just steps away from our private beach. We have many families that have turned their vacations at Gulf Beach into reunions and we certainly hope that you and your family and friends will return to spend time with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurndale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I thought what we paid nightly for a room was great compared to the other hotels we inquired about right around the Gulf Resort. Yes, it is an older-style hotel, but my husband and I, who were staying the weekend in town for a beach wedding, appreciated how clean it was, and our room had all the modern amenities. Full kitchen with dishware, appliances, flat screen, screened in patio. Even had a shelf of books for us to peruse. No parking fees or anything like that. And we were just steps from the beach. The water was beautiful, you could see clear to the bottom through the crystal water, so we didn't even bother getting in the pool. Although the pool looked clean and well maintained, too. Overall, it IS an older motel, but the staff was very friendly, and the place was very clean and well-kept. So I say, no complaints. I thought they couldve gotten away with charging a little more, due to the close proximity to the beach, but I'm so glad they didn't. We will keep coming here when we visit Lido Beach.

Room Tip: We went directly to their website and they had a floor plan laid out that told you the exact price o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your visit to Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We also appreciate your comments about the cleanliness and comforts of our rooms. Every member of our staff is committed to making each guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach and some of our other amenities. I hope you enjoyed the wedding and we look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Beach Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.