We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Beach Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Save
You added Gulf Beach Resort Motel to your Saves list
930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed two nights here on our recent holiday. The location could not be bettered and you are virtually on the beach. The staff we encountered were all friendly and willing to help. The decor in the rooms was a little bit dated but our room was very clean and other than sleeping we didn't spend a lot of time in it. Bit disappointed that there was no tea or coffee in the room. Most of the rooms have outside seating areas behind mesh screens. Presume this is to keep bugs out but it did make the rooms look a bit like cages. The hotel website is great, it has a plan showing all the rooms so you can actually view your room and see where it is prior to booking. Thought this was a nice touch. The gulf beach resort is surrounded by plusher hotels but it all depends what you want to pay. If you are looking for something a bit more basic but in exactly the same location as the, so called plusher resorts, then this place will take some beating and represents excellent value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I appreciate your positive input about our web site. We have tried to make it informative and easy to navigate. Most people like the privacy our screened porches provide while still having the feeling of being outside. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beach and also take advantage of everything our area has to offer. We are kind of nestled in between the high rise condominiums and hotels, but I think that is what makes us unique. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    79
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
52
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Gulf Beach Resort and absolutely loved it! As others mentioned, it is so clean! Our condo was decorated very cute and "beachie." The kitchen was well equipped; everything you need!
The beach is steps away and is very nice and clean.
Also, the staff, housekeeping especially, were so gracious and accomodating.
And the price can't be beat.
We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff take great pride in making everyone's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. A special thank you to you for mentioning our housekeeping staff. Most of our staff has been with us for many years and a guest's comfort is very important to them. Thank you also for mentioning that we do have affordable rates. We strive to make a beach getaway affordable for most everyone. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for our son's wedding...it was great neat and clean! Beach was right outside our room. I love this place go and stay....you will not want to leave we didn't lol. Thanks the Bodtmann family.

Room Tip: Room 103 is were we stayed..it has everything private patio,grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel and share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.It was a pleasure having your family members and friends stay with us and enjoy your son's wedding. Since our property is right on the water every room is literally just steps away from our private beach. We have many families that have turned their vacations at Gulf Beach into reunions and we certainly hope that you and your family and friends will return to spend time with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurndale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I thought what we paid nightly for a room was great compared to the other hotels we inquired about right around the Gulf Resort. Yes, it is an older-style hotel, but my husband and I, who were staying the weekend in town for a beach wedding, appreciated how clean it was, and our room had all the modern amenities. Full kitchen with dishware, appliances, flat screen, screened in patio. Even had a shelf of books for us to peruse. No parking fees or anything like that. And we were just steps from the beach. The water was beautiful, you could see clear to the bottom through the crystal water, so we didn't even bother getting in the pool. Although the pool looked clean and well maintained, too. Overall, it IS an older motel, but the staff was very friendly, and the place was very clean and well-kept. So I say, no complaints. I thought they couldve gotten away with charging a little more, due to the close proximity to the beach, but I'm so glad they didn't. We will keep coming here when we visit Lido Beach.

Room Tip: We went directly to their website and they had a floor plan laid out that told you the exact price o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your visit to Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We also appreciate your comments about the cleanliness and comforts of our rooms. Every member of our staff is committed to making each guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach and some of our other amenities. I hope you enjoyed the wedding and we look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

First I have to commend the staff of The Gulf Beach Motel. They are all around nice and very helpful from reservation to check out. We found this Motel on Trip Advisor when we were looking for accommodations for our daughters destination wedding on Lido Beach April 2012. Even though the location and price were perfect; we had some concerns about the condition of the rooms as pictures don't get the details. We had people staying in about 14 of the rooms. Each one is different in regards to design and updates. The beds I have been told are replaced every 3 years and all have protective plastic covers. Ours did. the kitchens are very small but do the trick. Some bathrooms only have showers so are smaller than those with tubs (they have that wonderful retro tile work). Water pressure was not a problem. Towels were small and thin but they did dry. Beds were comfortable. Our room was 309 and needed some sprucing up but it served its purpose. The pool was nice. We used the tiki hut for an impromptu pot luck one afternoon. Awesome sunsets, stingrays, screened porches and Rosie, our house keeper. This is a very old structure that has historical designation. There is no one perfect room, they all have a little something that needs attending to. If I had wanted expensive, modern, & bland, I would have made my reservations elsewhere. The Gulf Beach Resort Motel was enjoyed by all of our guests. If you are a picky person ask the staff which room would be best for you. No matter what room you get, you have the nicest beach just outside your door.

Room Tip: they have few connecting rooms that make for a 2 bedroom unit with 2 bathrooms for $156. which is mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It was such a pleasure to have so many of your family members and friends stay with us while attending your daughter's wedding. I appreciate your special recognition of our staff. Each and every member strives to make our guest's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Thank you for mentioning Rosie. She is one of our long time staffers and makes it a personal mission to take care of "her guests". It also sounds as though you were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer. The Tiki Hut is a perfect place for families to gather and enjoy a meal, or cocktails, especially at sunset. Thank you again for choosing Gulf Beach Resort Motel to be a part of your special occasion and we certainly hope you will return to visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northboro, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Older (50's style) motel on beautiful Lido beach. We had connecting rooms (105 A & B). One had a full kitchen and the other had fridge and microwave.

Pros: Clean, good value for the area, perfect location, good facilities (pool, private beach, laundry), great staff.

Cons: Rooms look older than the pics with some wear. Our room had a faded bedspread, stains on the tile floor and the mattress could be better.

Bottom line: Already scoped out rooms for our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have already made plans to return to visit with us again. We do make every effort to keep our property affordable for people to be able to enjoy some time at the beach. I would have to agree with you in that we do have a great staff. Every staff member makes the extra effort to try and make each guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I will also be sure to check the mattresses in those two particular units. We just recently replaced them in both units (within the last 6 months). Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to you returning to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I want to love it, have stayed there three times but the last two visits had big huge palmetto bugs. This last time last week our out of town niece and my wife were horrified as not one out of one drawer room 109 but two out of different drawers were flying around after trying to put clothes away into dresser. Mgmt. Says same old thing well spray....these efforts are not good enough. This was may 2013. In 2011 our lrevious visit i awoke to a funny feeling on my face....like tickling...sure enough a three inch roach on my shirt when i turned the light on and of course wife screams almost giving me a heart attack....no more..beware. i tried but twice in a row is too much. I feel bad leaving this review but the truth must be told, we live in Florida so we can pack it up easily and go home but two visits and roaches is too much. Please fix it.....it could be a great place, look me up mgmt. And you will read and see that complaints were made both times .

Room Tip: Bring roach spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. We do have routine maintenance for pest control and unfortunately there may be an incident from time to time where a bug may be found. We very rarely have complaints of this nature and try to tend to them immediately when they do occur. We have also had situations where unwanted visitors have managed to find their way into our rooms by way of luggage or shopping bags brought by our guests, unknowingly of course. I'm sure, since you are a Florida resident, you are aware that even being diligent about pest control and taking extraordinary measures for cleanliness does not always guarantee that you won't have the occasional visit from a palmetto bug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Beach Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.