We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Beach Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Save
You added Gulf Beach Resort Motel to your Saves list
930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Northboro, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Older (50's style) motel on beautiful Lido beach. We had connecting rooms (105 A & B). One had a full kitchen and the other had fridge and microwave.

Pros: Clean, good value for the area, perfect location, good facilities (pool, private beach, laundry), great staff.

Cons: Rooms look older than the pics with some wear. Our room had a faded bedspread, stains on the tile floor and the mattress could be better.

Bottom line: Already scoped out rooms for our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have already made plans to return to visit with us again. We do make every effort to keep our property affordable for people to be able to enjoy some time at the beach. I would have to agree with you in that we do have a great staff. Every staff member makes the extra effort to try and make each guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I will also be sure to check the mattresses in those two particular units. We just recently replaced them in both units (within the last 6 months). Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to you returning to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
48
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I want to love it, have stayed there three times but the last two visits had big huge palmetto bugs. This last time last week our out of town niece and my wife were horrified as not one out of one drawer room 109 but two out of different drawers were flying around after trying to put clothes away into dresser. Mgmt. Says same old thing well spray....these efforts are not good enough. This was may 2013. In 2011 our lrevious visit i awoke to a funny feeling on my face....like tickling...sure enough a three inch roach on my shirt when i turned the light on and of course wife screams almost giving me a heart attack....no more..beware. i tried but twice in a row is too much. I feel bad leaving this review but the truth must be told, we live in Florida so we can pack it up easily and go home but two visits and roaches is too much. Please fix it.....it could be a great place, look me up mgmt. And you will read and see that complaints were made both times .

Room Tip: Bring roach spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. We do have routine maintenance for pest control and unfortunately there may be an incident from time to time where a bug may be found. We very rarely have complaints of this nature and try to tend to them immediately when they do occur. We have also had situations where unwanted visitors have managed to find their way into our rooms by way of luggage or shopping bags brought by our guests, unknowingly of course. I'm sure, since you are a Florida resident, you are aware that even being diligent about pest control and taking extraordinary measures for cleanliness does not always guarantee that you won't have the occasional visit from a palmetto bug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently stayed for a weekend getaway and had a wonderful time. Yes, the hotel is old and no it is not the ritz. But it is extremely clean and has everything you could ask for, especially for a beach motel. You get an awesome location without the exorbitant price tag some of the other hotels in the area carry. It is in walking distance to many shops and restaurants so you can pretty much park your car and just relax. The staff were all extremely friendly. We had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
I appreciate that you took the time to write a review about your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We find that quite a few of our Florida residents are discovering us as a great place for a beach getaway. The proximity to St. Armand's Circle, featuring a wide variety of restaurants and shops, makes it possible to not have to leave the island at all during a short stay. We make a special effort to keep our rates affordable so that a wide variety of guests can spend some time at the beach. If this was your first time staying with us then we certainly look forward to having you return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed here on and off for over 18 years. This is a wonderful location, staff is great and the weather was perfect. We had Room 304, two double beds and a kitchen. Room definitely needs to be updated, this is one of the older rooms and is quite dated. However it is a good size and was perfect for our 3 day weekend. One parking space per unit, however there is plenty of parking available on the street.

Room Tip: I personally like the rooms up front with the back patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel and sharing your experiences with us. We certainly appreciate our loyal guests that return to us year after year. I also appreciate your comments about our staff. Each one of our staff members is committed to making a guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The upgrading/updating of units is something I am currently working on with several owners so hopefully you'll see an improvement during your next visit. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here for a mini trip with my sisters. A weekend getaway for the girls. Excellent location, right on a very nice beach. St. Armands Circle with its many shops & restaurants is a quick 5 minute drive away. The unit we stayed in does need some updating very badly. These units are individually owned & it is time for unit 304 to be updated. The linens, mattresses & kitchen was sub standard. However getting past that it was a perfect location & I would return again, but not in unit 304. I recommend this as a wonderful family style destination for beach lovers. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to spend some quality time with your sisters. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach and certainly hope that you had the opportunity to witness one of our breathtaking sunsets. St. Armand's Circle certainly offers a wide variety of restaurants and shops to visit when you weren't enjoying the sun on the beach. We look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

While some of the rooms need some serious updating, overall this little property was fabulous. The morning front desk staff was excellent and the location is great. It had a great fitness center -- great walks at the ocean! Again, some of the rooms need upgrading and plumbing work but it is family friendly, quiet, right on the beach and was the perfect place for family and friends to gather while in Sarasota to attend a destination wedding. Thanks for the memories!

Room Tip: You can view each room on the website so I would advise checking out the rooms and requesting one yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We quite often have groups stay with us to celebrate weddings or to share some family time together. I also appreciate your comments about our staff as each member strives to make our guests feel welcome and works to accommodate their needs. I am working with owners to upgrade/update some of the units and hope to have those completed by the end of this year. Any of our front desk personnel is more than happy to work with guests to determine which unit would best suit their needs. We hope you'll be able to return to visit with us again and make even more memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What do you expect to stay in Lido Key?

We, two adults and one child of nine years old, stayed there for four days. It was very cold, 60's degree F. in most days.

It was a nice, clean, and friendly MOTEL located just on Lido Beach. You should know this is not a luxurious 5 star hotel like Ritz Carlton. Our room (#318) was a kind of small, but clean, quiet, and most things worked well. The room had a nice partial ocean view and heron welcomed us when we checked in and said goodbye when we checked out. We could not use swimming pool because it was too cold (60's degree F). There were other motel facilities like Tiki Hut, BBQ area, Shuffle Board, and Laundry, however, we did not use them at all.

There were three minor problems while we stayed; 1) shower pressure was a little too weak, 2) tile flooring was uncomfortable for us, and 3) Free WI-FI wireless high speed internet did not work well.

But this motel has still very good value and location just on Lido Beach. There are only several hotels in Lido Key and they all are very expensive. If you need nice location, beautiful beach, and reasonable room rate, this is the one you should stay. If you need great room and services with ocean front view, you should go Ritz or Lido Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Room #318 had nice partial ocean view. When we come back here, we will try Room #319 that has ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your comment about the low water pressure and we have changed the shower head to address that problem. Most of our units do have tile floors mainly because they are the easiest to maintain with our property being right on the beach. The problem with our wi-fi has also been addressed and a faulty piece of equipment has been replaced. We had recently upgraded our system to improve accessibility and speed and to accommodate more people wanting access at the same time. I certainly wish the weather would have been a little nicer during your stay and will see if we can order something up a little warmer during your next visit. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you return to Gulf Beach Resort Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Beach Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.