We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Beach Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Save
You added Gulf Beach Resort Motel to your Saves list
930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are looking for a four star experience, stop right now and look elsewhere. BUT, if you want an out-of-time experience without life's pressures, if you don't mind sharing your front porch with sand cranes, if you can get used to walking to the beach within minutes--without leaving motel property THEN this is the place for you. My husband and I just spend a very quick (regrettably) stay in Rm 102 and were delighted with GBRM! We would stay here again! Reasons for 4/5 stars: 1) Yes, the entire place is dated and in some need of relief. However, we did not see anything broken or in need of repair or painting. 2) The heated outdoor pool is magnificent! 3) Outdoor grilling area has picnic area and beach has a tiki hut. 4) Our room was clean and furnished as you expect for a motel adjacent to a beach. Loved the enclosed, private patio in the back! Didn't love the bathroom with limited water pressure from the shower and a tub in need of replacing. However, very clean and plenty of space. Great king size bed for good sleeping! 5) The best recommendation that any place can have is that it is very difficult to get a reservation here. This place is constantly booked!! That says something for it! Bottom line--you will not be sorry if you stay here!

Room Tip: Check out the website prior to selecting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to meet some of our feathered residents. We do pride ourselves on being unique and providing guests with a comfortable place to stay and enjoy our private beach and heated pool. I've seen many guests enjoy family gatherings by the charcoal grills and under the Tiki Hut. Since each room is decorated differently we can offer a variety of choices depending on a guest's needs. Again, I would like to thank you for your kind words and I certainly hope that the next time you come to visit with us you can stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
48
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Each of the units is owned by a different owner so I'm guessing they can differ, but the one we stayed in was lovely. Really tastefully decorated with character, it's own screened in outside area and kitted out with everything we needed. Kids loved the pool and being right on the beach. We walked out in the morning and amazing red coral had washed up right by the motel. We loved our stay and could easily have spent longer than our fleeting visit. Eating options a 3 min drive away (or walk if no kids) - all in all very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your time spent at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It sounds like your family was able to enjoy our beach and heated pool to the max! You are quite right when you say that each of the units are decorated differently which we feel adds to the uniqueness and versatility of our property. Most of our units have fully equipped kitchens which a lot of our guests enjoy, especially those with children. There are also a few restaurants within walking distance of our hotel, or you can venture down to St. Armand's Circle (3/4 of a mile away) and enjoy a variety of restaurants and shops. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you can stay a little longer the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The building we stayed in is an old probably '50s motel, while clean, bed was like a box springs/mattress in one, not good and the shower just barely came out with mostly no water pressure, most likely old stopped up pipes. It was on the Gulf which we enjoyed watching the sunset.Our room could have used a little paint here and there to clean things up, overall for the price we pd.of $145.00 I would not stay here again because of the above mentioned areas.

Room Tip: Ck shower pressure before unloading your clothes and request another room if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. You are correct in that we were originally built in the early 1950's and were one of the first hotels on the beach on Lido Key. We are a historically designated hotel and take pride in trying to maintain the appearance and ambiance of the original intent of the property. I apologize that you had an issue with the shower. We take care of maintenance issues as soon as possible after they are reported to the office. In looking at the history of the unit that you stayed in there had not been any reported problems with the shower. I also appreciate you letting us know about the bed situation and that will be addressed as well. We do try to keep our rates affordable so that people can manage to spend quality time on a beach vacation or getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family have been coming to this charming little gem since at least the early 70's. each room is individually owned, so every room yields a different look. Most rooms come with kitchens, but you can also get cheaper rooms without. The atmosphere is very friendly and casual. (Just check out the photo collage at the front desk and you'll get the idea.) The facility is right up on the beach, so there's no walk to speak of. The prices are very reasonable, as is their reservation policy. You're not going to find anything terribly fancy here (however the wifi is pretty speedy) and there's a beach-worn feel to it all, but that just adds to the atmosphere. Love this place!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am so happy to hear that you have been enjoying our property for so many years. We have many families that return year after year and it is always fun to see how the families have grown and are introducing new little ones to Gulf Beach. It is exciting to us to see guests making new memories and reminiscing about old ones. We continue to see many new families starting a tradition of returning to Gulf Beach yearly as well. We also take pride in trying to keep our prices reasonable so that we can remain affordable for so many to enjoy a vacation/getaway to the beach. We love having your family stay with us and we look forward to many more years of vacations at Gulf Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakdale pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Small retro motel surrounded by high rise hotels. Clean but very small room (unit 202). Courteous
staff. Room had only small fridge and microwave. No restaurants or stores within one mile. Had
to drive to eat or shop.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. The unit you stayed in was a motel room which does offer a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. All of our other types of rooms do have fully equipped kitchens and may be a little more convenient if you are staying for more than a few nights. The island we are on (Lido Key) is most definitely a more quiet and laid-back environment than some of the others in the area. There is a large selection of restaurants and shops at St. Armand's Circle which is about 3/4 of a mile from our property. We also try to advise guests that will be visiting us for the first time to stop at a grocery store on their way in to pick up any food and beverage items they may need or want as there are no grocery or convenience stores on the island. I hope that you will return to visit with us again and we would be more than happy to work with you to find the room that would be more suitable for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

With the Marriott on one side and Ritz on the other, you know you are in a high rent district on the beach but without the cost, so you can expect it to be "historic" and nothing fancy, but the important thing was the staff was super nice and friendly, it was clean and had everything we needed for a few days. We rented an efficiency condo on the second floor in the building nearest the beach, but unfortunately the weather was not beachy, so we did a lot of window shopping and spent a pleasant afternoon at Myakka State Park. There are rooms and condos here so it just depends on what you need and how much you want to pay. I would recommend it for older couples and those with children on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the activities available in the area. We are designated as a historic motel and take pride in trying to maintain the original condition and ambiance of the property as it was when it was built. We know that we cannot compete with the high-end hotels that surround us but acknowledge that we can offer a unique experience for those travelers that are looking to enjoy a relaxing and low-key vacation on the beach. I hope to see you return to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here with friends for a 3-day, 3 opera weekend. Quiet with nice beach; our rooms were clean and attractive, nothing fancy, close to downtown Sarasota and the Opera House (15 minutes) and St. Armand's shopping (5 minutes). Weather was cold so didn't spend much time on the beach or at the motel. Manager was friendly and free coffee offered at the office in the morning.

Room Tip: My husband and I and the couple who joined us reserved two ground floor rooms next to one another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay and take advantage of the many cultural activities Sarasota has to offer. We did unfortunately experience an unusually cold March this year which made it difficult for people to enjoy the beaches. We hope that others also took advantage of the other activities available in the area. I look forward to having you return to stay with us again at some future time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Beach Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.