We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small retro motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Beach Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Save
You added Gulf Beach Resort Motel to your Saves list
930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
oakdale pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“small retro motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Small retro motel surrounded by high rise hotels. Clean but very small room (unit 202). Courteous
staff. Room had only small fridge and microwave. No restaurants or stores within one mile. Had
to drive to eat or shop.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. The unit you stayed in was a motel room which does offer a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. All of our other types of rooms do have fully equipped kitchens and may be a little more convenient if you are staying for more than a few nights. The island we are on (Lido Key) is most definitely a more quiet and laid-back environment than some of the others in the area. There is a large selection of restaurants and shops at St. Armand's Circle which is about 3/4 of a mile from our property. We also try to advise guests that will be visiting us for the first time to stop at a grocery store on their way in to pick up any food and beverage items they may need or want as there are no grocery or convenience stores on the island. I hope that you will return to visit with us again and we would be more than happy to work with you to find the room that would be more suitable for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
48
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

With the Marriott on one side and Ritz on the other, you know you are in a high rent district on the beach but without the cost, so you can expect it to be "historic" and nothing fancy, but the important thing was the staff was super nice and friendly, it was clean and had everything we needed for a few days. We rented an efficiency condo on the second floor in the building nearest the beach, but unfortunately the weather was not beachy, so we did a lot of window shopping and spent a pleasant afternoon at Myakka State Park. There are rooms and condos here so it just depends on what you need and how much you want to pay. I would recommend it for older couples and those with children on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the activities available in the area. We are designated as a historic motel and take pride in trying to maintain the original condition and ambiance of the property as it was when it was built. We know that we cannot compete with the high-end hotels that surround us but acknowledge that we can offer a unique experience for those travelers that are looking to enjoy a relaxing and low-key vacation on the beach. I hope to see you return to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here with friends for a 3-day, 3 opera weekend. Quiet with nice beach; our rooms were clean and attractive, nothing fancy, close to downtown Sarasota and the Opera House (15 minutes) and St. Armand's shopping (5 minutes). Weather was cold so didn't spend much time on the beach or at the motel. Manager was friendly and free coffee offered at the office in the morning.

Room Tip: My husband and I and the couple who joined us reserved two ground floor rooms next to one another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay and take advantage of the many cultural activities Sarasota has to offer. We did unfortunately experience an unusually cold March this year which made it difficult for people to enjoy the beaches. We hope that others also took advantage of the other activities available in the area. I look forward to having you return to stay with us again at some future time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

First time at Gulf Beach and would definitely recommend. Yes, the property is aged and lacks eminities found in newer properties but the location can't be beat. Rooms are comfortable, nice heated pool, walking proximity to St. Armand's Circle, Lido National Park and a nice private beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your first time with us and were able to take advantage of our beautiful beach and heated pool. We take pride in making our rooms as comfortable as possible for our guests and try our best to accommodate their needs. It sounds like you were able to visit some of the fine restaurants and unique shops at St. Armand's Circle as well as enjoy some of the trails at South Lido Park. We certainly appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having your return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I guess if you are into 50's era lodging this would be the place to go but I appreciate a more modern room with amenities such as HEAT! The room was clean but very outdated and somewhat run down. The heat didnt work so I called the office. They said they could provide a space heater if I came to get it...not exactly good customer service. Would I return? Definately NOT! On the plus side, it is located on the gulf and has a nice beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you might have expected. I appreciate your comment that our rooms were clean and that you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach. With regards to having an issue with heat in the room, our window air conditioners do come equipped with heat strips. It is very unfortunate that the heat did not work in your particular room and I apologize for that. In the evening our desk clerk is the only staff member on site and is not always able to attend to some issues immediately. It is my understanding that they did offer to bring you a heater at the end of their shift but also stated that you could come to the office to pick one up if you needed one immediately. Since all of our rooms are decorated differently, we always prefer to offer guests various options of rooms so that they may choose the one to their liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not at all what we expected from the number one rated hotel. Our room smelled musty covered with a strong soapy scent while our friend's room smelled of urine. Beds were old, window ac whose filter smelled as if it hadn't been cleaned in ages. Refrigerator had ice trays partially used. Generally shoddy. Our friend's room had plastic under the sheets. Checkout was no later than 11:00 AM allowing little time for activities. That said, we couldn't wait to get out. After staying at the Lido Beach Resort two building down several times, I don't understand how this receives a number one rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. Our check out time of 11:00 a.m. is considered to be a standard time in the hotel/motel industry. Although we do require our guests to check out of their room by 11:00 a.m. they are all invited to remain on the property to either enjoy the beach or the pool for the day.Our units are inspected on a daily basis for any repairs that are required and they are tended to on a timely basis. I certainly understand if you feel that your experience at another hotel was different than the one you had at Gulf Beach. We are an older facility, we are not a high-rise and we do not have some of the amenities that the other hotel can offer. We do however pride ourselves on being unique and work very hard at making each guest's experience an enjoyable one. We also recognize that we may not be suitable for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we paid $168 to stay in a room, 301b the room was not only dated and in need of a good painting, but smelled or urine, the beds had plastic sheets, which were very hot and uncomfortable. The bathroom was a disgrace, fosset hanging off the wall and bath should be condemned and the ceiling had polystyrene tiles, highly illegal. If you are selling rooms, you have to think about the people who are paying good money to stay, not how much you can make without keeping it up to a good standard. This was an eye opener didnt think people today sold rooms in this state.

Room Tip: The rooms are all owned by different people, its pot luck here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am sorry that you feel that you had a bad experience at Gulf Beach. Upon reading your review I immediately inspected the unit to correct the issues you had mentioned. I would like to state that we do not have "plastic sheets" on our beds. We do have mattress covers on the mattresses and the box springs and we also have good quality bedding on all of our beds. I could not find an issue with the bathroom faucet. The ceiling tiles that you mention are purchased at a well known national home improvement center and to the best of their knowledge, and ours, they are not illegal. They are standard ceiling tiles that can be found in many commercial and rental properties. We also recognize that our facility is not suited to every one. The majority of our guests have enjoyed their stays with us and return year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Beach Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.