We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going to Sarasota, you've got to stay there at least once!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Beach Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Save
You added Gulf Beach Resort Motel to your Saves list
930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Patterson, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you're going to Sarasota, you've got to stay there at least once!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I was told about GBMR by a friend at church. She seemed to enjoy it so much, we added a week to our Orlando trip. Despite Sandy trying to make things unpleasant, with cloudy skies and cooler weather, I was able to witness a WEDDING on the beach from my balcony! Buildings 100 and 200 are single story with screened patios. Building 300 has 2 floors, and is right on the edge of the beach and its white sands! I had an upstairs room on the inside end, but its long, shared balcony gives you a nice view of the waves. Greg, the asst. manager was cordial, as was the rest of the staff (sorry I didn't get their names). Housekeeping came by every day with fresh towels, but other than that it was a low maintenance week. With a small but full kitchen I saved plenty by shopping at the Publix supermarket. Lots of diversions nearby, but don't miss St. Armand's Circle!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are glad that you decided to extend your stay in Florida to enjoy our beach and our facility. The fully equipped kitchens in most units definitely help to save money on meals and also provide the convenience of having all you may need to enjoy an extended stay. It's nice that you were able to experience a wedding on our beach. We've had many families spend their special day on our property and I have had the pleasure of officiating at several of them myself! I also really appreciate your kind comments about our staff. Our goal is to make everyone's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I certainly hope you will have the opportunity to return and visit with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
48
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband & I have been enjoying long weekends at GBRM for a few years now. You'll find that many of their guests are regulars. The units are all different and you can actually view each unit on line and check availability. The motel is 60 years old, but clean. Location is right on the beach. Each room has a working blender for enjoying those tropical drinks on the beach. We rent a one bedroom with full kitchen. There's even one unit with central air. The people running the motel are friendly and reliable. We drive up from Fort Myers and meet Venice friends there.

Room Tip: Talk to management on the phone. They can help you figure. out which room or adjoining rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We thank you for being regular guests at Gulf Beach Resort Motel and for taking the time to share your experiences with others. Most of our units do have fully equipped kitchens and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the blender! So many of our guests do return year after year and as a result find that making friends with other returning guests can be one of many highlights of their stay. We also appreciate your suggestion that our front office staff love to work with people making reservations to make sure their accommodations will be best suited to their needs. We look forward to having you return to Gulf Beach for many more weekends to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the GBRM for a weekend getaway from Orlando. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the interior. We were in room 316. Great view of the ocean from the building's balcony. We did not use the kitchen, but it had everything we would have needed. Loved being able to walk 50 yards to the beach and a beautiful sunset. Bedroom was a little snug, but very comfortable with plenty of extra pillows and blankets. We will definitely stay here agin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are very happy to hear that you consider us a "gem" as we do as well. We are pleased that you traveled from Orlando to spend a weekend getaway at our special place on Lido Beach. Most of our units do have fully equipped kitchens which make it perfect for making everything from light lunches or breakfasts to complete meals! We look forward to having you visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We wanted to get some beach time for a few days while visiting relatives on the east coast of Florida. We had never really visited the Sarasota area so we initiated an on-line search for a quiet place on the beach and we found it at the GulfBeach Reort Motel. The "Motel" consists of individually owned units that are really condominiums. Each is decorated to the taste of the owner(s) and each has a kitchenette and screened in porch. We ate out at the nearby St. Armands Circle area of shops and restaurants for two nights and prepared a meal in on one night.

The Sarasota area is very busy with a lot of traffic, but the Gulf Beach Resort is tucked away from it all and is very quiet. The beach is beautiful and very wide. There are several covered pavilions and we commandered one to watch the sunset one evening. All in all we had a nice getaway in the midst one of the busiest areas of Florida.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are so glad you managed to find our quiet little place on the beach in Sarasota. Lido Key is definitely more laid back and less hectic than other areas of our beautiful city on the gulf. We are also close to many activities and cultural venues. St. Armand's is a quaint area featuring unique shopping and dining experiences and very close to our facility. We certainly hope that you will return in the future to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Allow me to say I am some what a princess when it comes to accommodations, but this place is VERY much worth staying at. Its no Ritz Carleton, but I HIGHLY recommend anyone looking for quaint, to look here.
When we first arrived, I was skeptical by the first glance. The curb appeal was not overly inviting. HOWEVER, if you are on the hunt for a little niche that provides romance, you've got the right spot here.
It was very quiet at night, and the amenities in the area were very nice. The resturants are amazing, and lots of shopping.
If you like spicy, try the blackened Mahi Mahi from the Daiquiri Deck restaurant. I've had the same thing in Tahiti, and it was very much the same.
Overall, this is one spot that I highly recommend to most people I know. And, if you like to cook (as I do) each unit comes with a kitchen fully stocked.
It's a guaranteed memory making spot.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, General Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. During this summer we have made some big changes to our entry area by completely re-landscaping our grounds and planting Florida native and Florida friendly plantings. I'm glad that you chose to give us a chance and that you had a wonderful experience with us. We are constantly trying to make improvements and welcome any comments or suggestions from our guests. We also appreciate that you are recommending us to your friends! I hope that you will return to us in the near future to make more memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was a cute little hide away in Sarasota. We visited and stayed during our wedding and it was wonderful. It was quaint and secluded. The staff was kind and helpful. All of our friends thought the same. This is a historic location with many modern amenities inside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, General Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are very happy that you and your family and friends chose to celebrate your special day with us. We especially enjoy seeing families and friends celebrate gatherings and special occasions at our special place on the beach. Our staff takes great pride in making sure that everyone's stay is as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We hope that you will return to make more memories at Gulf Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We drove into Sarasota right after a very expensive chi-chi weekend with the peeps and guess what? We liked this place better!! A little slice of old Florida just like we used to stay in with Mom and Dad. Quiet room, right on the beach, clean sheets, hot shower, TV & WiFi, fridge, free coffee, small pool but nice, BBQ pits, tiki hut, great location near St Armand's Circle AND very reasonable rates - what more could you want? We would definitely stay here again :-)

Room Tip: Each room privately owned, all different, take a look before you choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are very happy that you happened upon us during your visit to Sarasota. We have many families that have been staying with us for years and are now bringing generations of family members back! We are definitely unique in that each room is different which allows all guests options that will fit their needs. We look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Beach Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.