We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Beach Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Save
You added Gulf Beach Resort Motel to your Saves list
930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Festus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We first visited this resort 7 years ago just by doing a drive-by and we lucked into getting Room 319 which overlooks the beach. This stay we stayed in rooms 303, 301A, and 304. We had extra family with us and required more than one room. We were impressed with all three rooms. All were very clean and came with a well furnished kitchen. These rooms were only steps away from the beach. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. They let us check out other rooms just to see what they looked like. Our next trip we will stay in room 101 if 319 or 309 are not available. The only complaint we had which is not really a complaint is the remote for the bedroom in 301A did not work, but the livingroom remote worked both TVS so not a big deal at all. Parking is just steps from your room. The pool was sparkling clean and warm. We really love this place!

Room Tip: Room 319 is on the upper level but has big windows to look out over the beach. Room 309 is lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm so happy you discovered us 7 years ago! We are unique in that each room is differently decorated which helps us to match a guest with their needs. We strive to make each guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I'm glad that you and your family were able to enjoy our facility and we look forward to having you vacation with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
48
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We live out east in Sarasota and a couple of times a year we run away from home, get a nice little condo at Gulf Beach Motel and pretend we are on vacation. People come from all over the world to enjoy our beaches so why shouldn't we? This is one of the few beachfront condos you can rent by-the-day, which makes it even more attractive to us hard working folk who can't get away for more than a couple of days at a time. We have a couple of favorite condos that we always ask for. Friendly staff, great location, awesome beach, great rates......can't beat it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We always enjoy it when our local residents can take the time to come out and enjoy our beautiful beaches. I hope you will continue to visit with us and we look forward to continuing to be your home away from home....if only for a few days at a time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, mi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Gulf Beach Resort Motel is a throwback to the old days of Florida vacations, the times when the interstate highway system was just coming into being. Knowing that, you would expect this place to be showing some age and it does. However, by and large, the place had held up well and is obviously a well cared-for property. Understand going in that this is not a modern, cookie cutter motel. It is a unique place and needs to be appreciated as such.
Having laid that foundation, know as well that the place is run well, the staff is great and the place is clean. Having read other reviews of the property and having visited the website, we knew what awaited us. We were very happy to have chosen GBRM for our vacation. The property met our expectations and more. One concern was whether or not the unit we were in (307) would meet our expected level of cleanliness. It did. The first things we checked were the kitchen utensil drawers. Once we found them to be free of crumbs or other signs of neglect, we knew the place would be fine.
From our room, we were not 100 yards from the gulf. There were plenty of beach lounge chairs provided for the GBRM guests. The beach itself was clean with bright white sand. The pool area was clean and neat. The community grill was used by others during our stay and there appeared to be no problem with it. We parked within a few steps of the room every single day of the seven we were there. St. Armand’s Circle was within walking distance (though about 3/4 of a mile). The ‘Circle’ has many shops and some very fine restaurants. It is a pricey area to be sure, but Sarasota proper is a short, beautiful drive to some additional and somewhat less expensive dining establishments. (You can get to many golf courses with an equally short drive.)
If there are any ‘downsides’ to the property, we would note these: (1)the bath towels are pretty well worn and (2) the air conditioners are effectively window (wall) units. (However with the ceiling fan and paying some attention to the temperature controls, we were never uncomfortable - even on the warmest of days.)
So, bottom line, between the location and the very reasonable cost, we were quite pleased. I would expect most travelers, who want to feel like they have had a taste of a real Florida beach vacation, will feel the same way.
(By the way, we saw couples, families and extended families all enjoying their time at this place.)

Room Tip: Get as close to the beach as you can. Note lower units of two story building do get noise from above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your very informative description of your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We do consider ourselves to be unique and make every effort to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. We appreciate any input you might have to improve our service and accommodations. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

We spent the week here and was happy with everything. You will not find a better place for the price on the beach. We have stayed at others along Lido Beach, nice places as well, with a price. The staff is great!! The rooms are very nice but don't expect the Ritz. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It is important to us that you enjoyed your stay and we try to extend every courtesy possible to each and every guest. We look forward to having you return to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City MI
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Not only small, but dated (and not in a quaint way). The mattress felt like it was stuffed with wadded up towels. The "kitchen" was so grungy we didn't want to touch anything..... Didn't use the shower for the same reason.

The units are smoke free, but the grounds are not, so when the woman next door (ie, two feet away) lighted up, we got to enjoy her cigarette smoke. The office staff smoked right outside the office door, so visiting the office was another second-hand smoke opportunity.

The unit had a screened-in porch that looked and felt like a cage in a poorly designed zoo.

The beach/sand was great, but this was too steep a price to pay for it. (and you couldn't see it from the rooms anyway....all windows overlook the parking lot)

The room was not cheap; we found a place a block from the beach for $30/night less. Probably equally small, but clean, airy, pleasantly decorated, very comfy bed.

Room Tip: From reading the other reviews, it seems there are some larger rooms. And the two units on the wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
I am sorry that our rooms did not meet your expectations and standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a charming, quaint and old-fashioned motel in a great location. It is small and right on the ocean with great views. There is a very nice heated pool overlooking the ocean. The staff and service crew were excellent and very friendly. The rooms were small and just so-so, but it is very much worth it because of the ambiance of this place. Don't expect a big high rise or fancy place with elevators. It is a small and intimate resort. Rooms are just steps to the beach where there are lounge chairs waiting for you to watch the beautiful sunsets. I would recommend this place very highly if you want a smaller and very charming place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper level rooms, which are more quiet from what we heard from the people staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience at Gulf Beach Resort. Many guests return to Gulf Beach year after year because we are a smaller more intimate facility. Our size tends to lend itself to a more friendly and laid back atmosphere. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our pool and beach and were able to experience our fabulous sunsets. We look forward to having you come back to vacation with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, the room was dated but comfortable. Clean bedding, linens, kitchen and bathroom. However the tile floor throughout the room needed a good scrubbing. The best part was the location. Footsteps from your door is an amazing white sand clear water private beach! Nice pool & friendly and attentive staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Gulf Beach Resort. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return to visit with us. I appreciate your input about the tile floor and we will tend to improving its condition. Some of the tile that we used several years ago unfortunately was not of the best quality and has not worn well over time. We are in the process of trying to determine how to correct the situation. We look forward to having you vacation with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Beach Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.