We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj Mahal of Ball Parks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ed Smith Stadium

Ed Smith Stadium
2700 12th Street, Sarasota, FL 34237
(941) 954-4101
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 49 Attractions in Sarasota
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Taj Mahal of Ball Parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is our second year in Florida for Spring Training. We are Pittsburgh Pirates fans, but, now have a new policy this year to only attend games at the Ed Smith Stadium, due to our bad experience last year at the Bradenton Ball Park, McKechnie Field, which is the home of the Pirates and only miles from each other!
We think that the policies of the Ed Smith Stadium are far superior than McKechnie Field. At Ed Smith Stadium, persons with mobility problems are able to be let out of their cars at the gate; either left, middle or right,of the stadium, that is closest to their seats. There are elevators in each section. We had to enter at the main gate of McKechnie and walk 3/4 way around to our seats that were in the sun without any shade and up steps.
The seats that we get at Ed Smith are the last row that are shaded by an overhang and a nice breeze.
The food options at Ed Smith are incredibly varied from the traditional artery clogging fried foods to our choice of more healthy food such as seafood and salads.
There is an entire section, in front of Ed Smith Stadium that is designated for Handicapped Parking. That doesn't exist at McKechnie Field.
At Ed Smith, all of the staff are friendly and informative. We are treated like kings and queens; as is fitting for the Taj Mahal of ball parks!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    50
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stadium is in pristine condition with great views from all spots. Good ballpark food from friendly staff, genuinely interested in baseball and the fan experience. Beer selection was diverse. Parking and drive to stadium was really easy. Great experience and look forward to our next trip to see the O's.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to watch baseball.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife and I saw two games at Ed Smith Stadium in March and loved our experience. The staff provides a great experience much like the Camden Yards folks do in Baltimore. We are Orioles fans and enjoyed the games tremendously. We park across the street at the Cal Ripken Youth League park which raises funds for their programs.

Note: this is one of the few spring training stadiums that allows you to bring in food. This is a good idea to avoid the high prices of stadium fare. If you do purchase stadium concessions, find the smoothie lady. Delicious and reasonably priced.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Updates are great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

First time in the new stadium (despite it being complete for a couple years) and was really impressed.

Saturday with nice weather, Orioles vs Yankees and it was a great game.

Impressed with the food selection, the crab cake sandwiches and specialty beers, with short waits in line.

Wish there was more shaded areas for the Florida heat but 1/2 the game we were in the shade.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice stadium for a game”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

the stadium is clean, well organized and great views from all seats. For me the food was really overpriced and not at all good. Who can manage to spoil a hot dog? the parking lot could also use a lot of help. Parked on the grass after a severe rain and watched a poor soul get trapped in the mud.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed Smith Stadium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ed Smith Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ed Smith Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.