We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarasota's Best Italian Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Italia

Dolce Italia
6606 Superior Ave., Sarasota FL, Sarasota, FL 34231-5838
+1 941-921-7007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 820 restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Come and try our authentic italian cuisine!Tiziana and Pippo are happy to make your experiens unique ..........
Huntington, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sarasota's Best Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

After reading a review on Trip Advisor, we selected Dolce Italia. It is not a restaurant you might stumble upon, as it is located on a small street and in a strip mall.The owners are personable, accommodaing and offer a superior meal at a fair price. The review suggested the Caprese and Trenne Dolce Italia. We were most satisfied with both dishes. Alex, our waiter, offered suggestions and was very attentive. It was a wonderful meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    313
    39
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornbury, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tiny place. Huge, fabulous food and friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I visited Dolce Italian the other night and without a reservation were able to snag a seat at the big family table in the rear. We enjoyed one of the best Italian meals ever, and we come from a city with fabulous Italian restaurants. The service from our waiter was outstanding, we had a nice friendly visit from the owner and left with enough for dinner the next night! Well definitely be returning, might make a reservation this time as the place is a tad small.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch Fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The husband and wife team are always ther and care about their food and service. I believe they are from Naples, Italy which turns out some of the worlds best food. The place isn't large so call ahead

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Feels like your in someone's living room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A little nervous at first....But place stands out when food is presented. 3 people run the place- Service was fabulous and food was so amazing. We will go back here whenever we are in town!!! Simple goodness from Italy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Their #1 for Italian in Sarasota is justified!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Don't let the storefront in the Gulf Gate area fool you. This is the real thing! Authentic Italian!. Their menu is limited to the usual chicken and veal dishes but there are always at least six "specials" on the blackboard that the very competent staff will be happy to explain in detail. To me that means that whatever is fresh and available in the market that day is what is being prepared in the kitchen. Great things come out of that tiny kitchen! Dining room decor is limited but we came for the food. We had a reservation (necessary) and our romantic table for two was ready when we arrived. Out waiter was Alex - charming and knowledgeable. An above average wine list with some unusual selections. Reasonably priced! We shared a antipasti, probably the best I have ever had on this side of the pond. Real Parma ham! I ordered my usual veal piccata, perfectly prepared but a little chewy. Angela had the sea bass Italiano which she raved about. Classy clientele. An altogether great dining experience. We felt as if we were dining in a little family place off the Via del Corso in Rome but the veal needs work.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Italia also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dolce Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.