We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny place. Huge, fabulous food and friendly service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Italia

Dolce Italia
6551 Gateway Ave, Sarasota FL, Sarasota, FL 34231-5838
+1 941-921-7007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 814 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A warm welcome to Dolce Italia, celebrating our fourth anniversary. Four years ago we opened with the dream of creating a little gathering place to enjoy good food and good company. You have helped us realize our dream, and we wish to thank you by providing our very best hospitality, ambiance and flavor. We came here from Ischia, Italy to share our passion for creating wholesome Italian Cuisine from our own family traditions. In return, you made us feel like a part of a big happy family here, so we don't miss our Ischia so much. My father created the sculpture of the enchanted Castle Aragonese on our wall to remind us of the beautiful place we were born and raised. Over the last four years, our dreams have come true. We remember each of our customers with fondness, we enjoy every evening that you spend with us, and we feel very lucky to have such a wonderful family of patrons. "La Nostra Casa e la Vostra Casa" (Our Home is your Home) Tiziana & Filippo & Dolce Italia Family
Thornbury, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tiny place. Huge, fabulous food and friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I visited Dolce Italian the other night and without a reservation were able to snag a seat at the big family table in the rear. We enjoyed one of the best Italian meals ever, and we come from a city with fabulous Italian restaurants. The service from our waiter was outstanding, we had a nice friendly visit from the owner and left with enough for dinner the next night! Well definitely be returning, might make a reservation this time as the place is a tad small.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    59
    29
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch Fl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The husband and wife team are always ther and care about their food and service. I believe they are from Naples, Italy which turns out some of the worlds best food. The place isn't large so call ahead

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feels like your in someone's living room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

A little nervous at first....But place stands out when food is presented. 3 people run the place- Service was fabulous and food was so amazing. We will go back here whenever we are in town!!! Simple goodness from Italy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Their #1 for Italian in Sarasota is justified!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Don't let the storefront in the Gulf Gate area fool you. This is the real thing! Authentic Italian!. Their menu is limited to the usual chicken and veal dishes but there are always at least six "specials" on the blackboard that the very competent staff will be happy to explain in detail. To me that means that whatever is fresh and available in the market that day is what is being prepared in the kitchen. Great things come out of that tiny kitchen! Dining room decor is limited but we came for the food. We had a reservation (necessary) and our romantic table for two was ready when we arrived. Out waiter was Alex - charming and knowledgeable. An above average wine list with some unusual selections. Reasonably priced! We shared a antipasti, probably the best I have ever had on this side of the pond. Real Parma ham! I ordered my usual veal piccata, perfectly prepared but a little chewy. Angela had the sea bass Italiano which she raved about. Classy clientele. An altogether great dining experience. We felt as if we were dining in a little family place off the Via del Corso in Rome but the veal needs work.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have been going to this little gem ever since it opened. Went their again last night. Always a fantastic experience. Food is great! The owners always make it a point to come out and say hello.
Our favorite Italian restaurant in Sarasota!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Italia also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dolce Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.