We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owen's Fish Camp

Owen's Fish Camp
516 Burns Ct, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-951-6936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“First timer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Two for dinner on a Tuesday. Very quirky atmosphere and was busy, but sat right away. Companion had shrimp and grits and exclaimed on the large and plentiful shrimp. She could not finish the large portion. I had the Grouper which was the fish of the day. A little rubbery, but ate it all. Sides of black eyed peas and cheesy grits were outstanding. We had oysters Rockefeller to start. Good, not great. No liquor, just beer and wine. Service was attentive and waitress explained the menu. Will return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    197
    47
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good food great location young staff not so much
Young ladies at the front desk are not very professional

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Totally great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a fun restaurant! The food was fantastic and the service also! They had a nice selection of beverages. There was live music in the cool and funky "old Florida" outdoor area along with cool places to hang out and watch the oysters roast over the fire and the kids play games and swing on the tire swing (we hung out there for a while after we ate), they also had call ahead seating which was nice for our large group as we could tell it was a very busy place. Everything we ordered was delicious and there was a nice assortment of menu items and prices. Their staff was fun to talk to also! A really great place and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This place has become one of our favorite places to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

There is nothing else to say other than perfection. We have never had a disappointing meal here. The ambiance adds to the culinary expertise. Start with the Bloody Mary oyster shooters then close your eyes and point on the menu. If you don't, you will change your mind a half dozen times. Thank me later!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed Owens, I had a fried green tomato salad that was one of the best salads In a long time & I eat a lot of fresh green salads. Speaking of greens, holy moly, the BEST i have ever had. I spent summers in southern Ky where i would pick the greens from the yard & yet Owens does greens better than both my grandmothers. I also applaud Owens for having 1 of the best beers, in my opinion its the next up & coming from Asheville, SC called Gaelic Ale! My girls loved swinging on the tire swing, while we listened to music & watched the cook smoke Oysters over the fire out back. It is very busy so I highly recommend call ahead seating. Pricey but worth it for this super food cant wait to visit again- next summer!!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owen's Fish Camp also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Owen's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owen's Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.