We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interestingly fresh menu in artistic/historic Sarasota center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owen's Fish Camp

Owen's Fish Camp
516 Burns Ct, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-951-6936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
University Place, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interestingly fresh menu in artistic/historic Sarasota center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food, fresh fish and vegetables. Pleasant surprise off the commercial path. Crowds of locals have discovered, but well worth 30 minute table wait on Friday evening. Interesting local connection to historical founder of Sarasota.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    196
    47
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Good Food in a Unique Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Southern style food in a very neat place. The food was very good, I enjoyed the collards and scallops, yum! I plan on going back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Even with a some what limited menu, this a place we will return to. Food and service was very good. We had no reservations, so had to wait about 1 hour, but they had a blue grass group playing that made the wait seem like a few minutes...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“only adding to the raves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

my husband and i had one night away from the kids on vaca for a solo dinner, so we chose owen's....wise choice!! all of the previous raves speak volumes for this place....we loved it! we've been coming to sarasota for years and finally stopped in....the only reason that we didn't go back is because we went there on the last night in town...next year, we wont make the same mistake!! everything we ate was wonderful and the price is extremely reasonable...get there early, if you can....we got there 6'ish and there wasnt a problem, but, by the time we left, it was packing out and this was on a tuesday night...all in all, charming, cheap(ish), and really, really tasty...enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant is literally on an alleyway of sorts. The unassuming location and look is just perfect. From appetizers to entree and desserts it was simply amazing. Great service, great food, great atmosphere. I was so impressed. The oyster shooters, the garlic snails then the seared scallops with braised pork. Lastly key lime bars. Amazing, delicious and YES this is a must in Sarasota!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owen's Fish Camp also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Owen's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owen's Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.