We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde Florida atmosphere with New Florida Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owen's Fish Camp

Owen's Fish Camp
516 Burns Ct, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-951-6936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Olde Florida atmosphere with New Florida Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great Olde Florida feeling when you pull up at the door! Feels like you are at your grand daddy's favorite fishin' Lodge. Love the variety of food, especially Shrimp and Grits. You can eat inside or outside - inside is slightly noisy. Get there early, like 5 to 5:30 during "season" or you are going to have to wait. If you go for lunch, be sure to wander into the nearby eclectic boutiques and stores.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    196
    47
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Camp Setting Gem Worth Seeking Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We dined at Owen's Fish Camp in March 2013. We went the night before but were turned away because of a private party. Seeing the ambiance of the place made us return the next night. We were not disappointed. We had a bit of a wait, but the "back yard" camp setting, earnest live music by three young musicians, and a glass of sangria helped us pass the waiting time in an enjoyable manner.

Once seated, the service was great and the food was delicious. My husband had a catch of the day which he thought was perfectly prepared (blackened magi-mahi) and I had the chicken, which was very good. We both had the green beans, which were a good complement to both meals. My starter was superb--the fried green tomato salad. I definitely recommend this restaurant. If I am ever back in Sarasota, I will return to Owen's Fish Camp.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Sarasota for years and are always looking for a new place to eat. This place was awesome. We had 7 of us (including grandparents and 3 teens) and we all loved it. Great atmosphere, great food, great service! Be prepared to wait, but they will take reservations for groups 6 or more (I think) and also do call ahead, which can cut down on the wait time. We will DEFINITELY return again next year!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Loved this place. Atmosphere was relaxed. The waiting area out back was fun and felt kind of campy. Meals were superb! Entrees were great with very interesting sides. The succotash with edamame was wonderful. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The hostess' use their own discretion with who they want to seat and in what time. Be prepared to slip them a $20 if you want to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Food was great. Waitress great. Atmosphere fantastic. Hostesses are not the sharpest tool in the shed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owen's Fish Camp also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Owen's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owen's Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.