We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owen's Fish Camp

Owen's Fish Camp
516 Burns Ct, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-951-6936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 860 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The fish was as fresh as it gets, here in sunny Florida. This is the kind of place that one only finds out about through a local, as it is located on the cozy nook of Burn's Court. Delicious food, friendly service, and reasonably priced. I shall be returning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    205
    52
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Casual, Excellent Seafood, fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It really does feel like a Fish Camp, were the chairs don't match, and there is fishing stuff all over the walls, seating inside and out, where you my find a cooler as a foot stool and your table top may look like a the cutting board table tops that are used to clean fish. It will bring a smile to your face and make you think you really are at "Fish Camp". It is on a very narrow road in the middle of the block. The food we had was excellent. I had jambalaya with pasta ... the best I ever had with lots of shrimp, crawfish, chicken and andouille sausage, with a red sauce spiced just right on a thin angle hair pasta ... delicious! My friend had excellent shrimp and grits (I know, I tasted it). Fair prices and what atmosphere! Great wait staff, gave good suggestions, and explainations of both food and drink,. I would consider this a "must try" if you go to Sarasota, I will go again, and bring some friends along too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Funky, yummy, cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived just before 6 pm on a Friday night and were seated immediately. Following advice from TA, we called ahead to get our name on the list. We had a fried fish basket, red snapper and mahi naked fish dinners. All were great, fresh and hot. Te cole slaw that comes with the basket is thimble sized, so we ordered a side at $3. We also split the fried green tomato salad between the 4 of us. I lOVED my blacked mahi!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seafood and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What an enjoyable experience! We found this place on Yelp which also had great reviews. The hostesses gave us a great welcome and within minutes we were seated and drinking. The waitresses are beautiful inside and out. The place is very casual. We felt very relaxed.The best appetizer was a Bloody Mary Oyster Shooter. The blackened prawn app was also available in dinner portion with two sides. Not to be missed sides were cheesy grits, black eyed peas, and succotash. Naked fish is for the purists: fish on a plate with two sides, sauces optional. Mostly all gulf seafood served. Dessert was offered and looked delish, but truly not needed after a great meal. Don't miss this experience: delicious and fun!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Wait was about an hour, which was great - they have an awesome waiting area with lots of seating and a fun bar. Great big banyan tree out front given to the owner by Thomas Edison. Seafood was out of this world. It's old and a truly great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owen's Fish Camp also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Owen's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owen's Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.