We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, Excellent Seafood, fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owen's Fish Camp

Owen's Fish Camp
516 Burns Ct, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-951-6936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 825 restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mequon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Casual, Excellent Seafood, fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It really does feel like a Fish Camp, were the chairs don't match, and there is fishing stuff all over the walls, seating inside and out, where you my find a cooler as a foot stool and your table top may look like a the cutting board table tops that are used to clean fish. It will bring a smile to your face and make you think you really are at "Fish Camp". It is on a very narrow road in the middle of the block. The food we had was excellent. I had jambalaya with pasta ... the best I ever had with lots of shrimp, crawfish, chicken and andouille sausage, with a red sauce spiced just right on a thin angle hair pasta ... delicious! My friend had excellent shrimp and grits (I know, I tasted it). Fair prices and what atmosphere! Great wait staff, gave good suggestions, and explainations of both food and drink,. I would consider this a "must try" if you go to Sarasota, I will go again, and bring some friends along too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    276
    164
    43
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Funky, yummy, cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived just before 6 pm on a Friday night and were seated immediately. Following advice from TA, we called ahead to get our name on the list. We had a fried fish basket, red snapper and mahi naked fish dinners. All were great, fresh and hot. Te cole slaw that comes with the basket is thimble sized, so we ordered a side at $3. We also split the fried green tomato salad between the 4 of us. I lOVED my blacked mahi!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seafood and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What an enjoyable experience! We found this place on Yelp which also had great reviews. The hostesses gave us a great welcome and within minutes we were seated and drinking. The waitresses are beautiful inside and out. The place is very casual. We felt very relaxed.The best appetizer was a Bloody Mary Oyster Shooter. The blackened prawn app was also available in dinner portion with two sides. Not to be missed sides were cheesy grits, black eyed peas, and succotash. Naked fish is for the purists: fish on a plate with two sides, sauces optional. Mostly all gulf seafood served. Dessert was offered and looked delish, but truly not needed after a great meal. Don't miss this experience: delicious and fun!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Wait was about an hour, which was great - they have an awesome waiting area with lots of seating and a fun bar. Great big banyan tree out front given to the owner by Thomas Edison. Seafood was out of this world. It's old and a truly great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unique menu and fun atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had dinner here last night, we were forewarned that wait times can be long so to call ahead before we left the house to be put on wait list (reservations not accepted) so we did and within a few mins after arrival we were seated. The interior dining rooms can be a bit loud, luckily we were seated outside on the porch. Interesting menu - we chose the Prawns appetizer, it was great, apparently they only put 3 on the plate so our waitress asked if we wanted 4 (2 each) and we opted for that, note - pricey at $17 for a starter but worth it. For entres we selected from the Naked Fish menu, Snapper grilled and Scallops blackened with 2 sides each we got Collard Greens, Cheesey Grits, Parsley Potatoes and Black-eyed peas. Everything was good and seasoned well, the fish portion was a bit on the small side but it was thicker than normal filet so that made up for it. The sides are very generous portions so that made up for the smaller main portions too. Only one let down and that was with the Scallops, they were flavorful and cooked perfectly but, very gritty - sand in every bite for every scallop, made them hard to enjoy. The service was prompt and friendly and the setting is really fun, a comfortable, eclectic fish shack right in the middle of town!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owen's Fish Camp also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Owen's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owen's Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.