We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a cool casual atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owen's Fish Camp

Owen's Fish Camp
516 Burns Ct, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-951-6936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 794 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food in a cool casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Owen's is set on a small side street that reminds me of the campground on Martha's Vineyard. It has an old time, laid back atmosphere but with great fresh fish, oysters, mussels, a decent wine list and some very interesting beers. Everything I had -- the smoked fish appetizers, shrimp and grits, oysters rockefeller were all delicious and made for a fun evening for my group of 7. Other pluses: It has a backyard where you can hang out and wait for your table and its connected to a cool art gallery where you can browse post dinner. Also, just down the street from the artsy theatre.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    256
    64
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west dennis,ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's A Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews had to try Owens . well it was great Its like eating in a camp in the woods. the service was excellent and the food as well. They do not take reservations but you can call ahead to get on a list . try it you will love it

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch Fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

As you enter you would think you're are dining somewhere in the Carribean. The place is fun, the food is good, and we have been there several times the clam bake was very good and worth the try

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Still Mediocre and Snitty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well, yes, we’ve been several times over the year or two it’s been open. Have had varying service –sometimes vague and vacuous, sometimes good. Food usually a solid B.

So yes, the leader of our film group set us up to go about 4pm after a Burns Court film. Small group, less than 10. Some people got there a few minutes after 4 – the film finished at 4:15. The hostess was draconian and must we say MUCH less than welcoming. Though we had made arrangements, NO ONE was allowed to sit at the table until ALL (including those who needed rest room breaks) had reported for head count. We, the hapless patrons in the room, though obviously the ones paying the check, meekly awaited the bidding of Queenie the Hostess. Can we mention that less than 20% of the tables were occupied at this early hour, and some of our party were using canes? Maybe the owner punishes people who don’t honor the “do not seat incomplete party” rule, regardless of the circumstances. The results aren’t good.

Our server was quite good – efficient and kind. She got an extra tip. Hope the hostess is not in the tip pool.

Food was OK. Salads, soggy, with bruised lettuce. Crabcakes obviously pre cooked and barely warm, though good lump meat. Fish was OK—though no one was raving. Wine pours barely in at 4oz, and markups quite high. (Think $9 for a wine that probably retailed at $12) And yes, the place is cute and quaint—but good looks only get you so far.

We are looking for other more welcoming venues with better quality food, both as a group and personally. This place is always crowded—yes, location, location, location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Forge, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Seafood Florida style in a fun, funky atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

With all the great reviews, I had to stop by. This a a very small restaurant with similarly small bar, but the food and atmosphere are huge! I got there at 8:15, only to find folks waiting for tables and the seven seat bar packed. So I grabbed a glass of wine and sat in the "backyard", literally! porch and all! Eventually was able to sit at the bar around 20 minutes later. Ordered an appetizer of Oysters Rockefeller - very nicely done and a large 6 portion, shared with folks at the bar. For my entree I had the grilled Red Snapper, choosing green tomato salsa - WOW. For sides I had a couple of real southern dishes, black-eyed peas with andouille sausage and spicy collards. Everything was great and worth the wait. They even have a nice wine and beer selection.

I'm going back as soon as I get back into Sarasota!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owen's Fish Camp also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Owen's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owen's Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.