We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only problem is that I wasn't hungry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owen's Fish Camp

Owen's Fish Camp
516 Burns Ct, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-951-6936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 795 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Only problem is that I wasn't hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There's a long wait on the weekends, but in our experience they overstated how long it would be...and regardless, it was worth it. They have a terrific menu, fun atmosphere, and the service was the best I have had lately anywhere - fast and attentive despite being packed. Our server was very helpful with suggestions. The jumbo prawn app was good, but even if you don't like escargot you MUST try the snail appetizer with chiorizo and grits. Amazing! and honestly enough to make a a meal out of. Most of us got the fish with two sides. Grilled scallops were huge and cooked perfectly. The grouper was also wonderful. Side dishes were plentiful, fresh and delicious as well. The cheesy grits are creamy...to die for. And the green beans were farmers market fresh...not canned. Highly recommended and can't wait to go back next time we're in Sarasota.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    244
    61
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Camp Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Generally liked this place. I had the Fish Tacos that were pretty good and a bit spicy. 3 large taco's. Wife's salad was nice as well. Would try again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East KY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food in a fun setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a great restaurant with truly remarkable food. Their Oyster Shoots and Rockefeller were terrific, and the shrimp and grits were delicious. The apple pie was quite tasty, and the pumpkin cheese cake that was taken home was wonderful. The staff made the visit even more special, they were so much fun as well as helpful. The funky and rustic atmosphere really added to the experience. I really wish I lived in Sarasota so I could delve into their entire menu!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great food and atmosphere in old Sarasota. Friendly staff with interesting and delicious food. Everyone our party loved what they ordered and would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Want really good fresh fish, Owens Fish Camp is the place to go. Nothing fancy but the fish is outstanding.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owen's Fish Camp also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Owen's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owen's Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.