We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent House/Excellent Back Story” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca d'Zan Mansion

Ca d'Zan Mansion
5401 Bay Shore Rd, Sarasota, FL 34243
941 359 5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 126 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Ocean Pines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Opulent House/Excellent Back Story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I visited this museum complex and arbitrarily picked the House and the Art Museum. We also ate in the restaurant. The House was clearly the highlight of our visit. A docent that was able to meet the time schedule for the tour without rushing our group. She added details and told the story as if she knew the Ringlings. Luckily the rooms are attractive and interesting and the individual items were unique. The view was fantastic and it was not hard to know why the mansion was located where it is.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    155
    20
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's such a beautiful mansion and has been lovingly restored. I absolutely loved the gorgeous location on the water with a terrace that leads right up to the water.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Lake
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming Remembrance of a Time Gone By”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was very impressed with the tour of the John and Mable Ringling home. It was built in the 1920s and the site and architecture was impressive. We took a guided tour that included the reception area, ballroom, court (living room), breakfast room, pantry, dining room on the main floor. On the second floor, up some marvelous marble stairs, was John's bedroom and a glimpse of his bathroom with a tub carved from a solid piece of a golden hued marble. We went through Mable's bedroom, bath and one of the guestrooms.
There is another tour call "Hidden Places" that was available that took you to the 3rd floor and tower. Knowing about that, I have a reason to return.
After touring the house we went to the circus museum and then the miniature circus that was equally impressive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow, this home is one of the finest. Original leaded glass windows are still intact. Impeccable taste of Mabel and John shows everywhere. Takes you back to the 1920's -1930's.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice restoration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The restoration of this home was done so well. The only disappointment is that you cannot go everywhere in the home. If you go on the tour at least you can go upstairs. I normally don't care for going on guided tours but this was an excellent one. Our guide Patricia was so informative I can't imagine there is one thing she wouldn't know about this property or the Ringlings. She was more then happy to answer questions. We made our reservation for the tour when we first walked into the museum, I'm not certain there is any other way to do that and I do believe you have to have a reservation to go on the tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca d'Zan Mansion also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ca d'Zan Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca d'Zan Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.