We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ride Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Trail

Legacy Trail
Train Depot, Sarasota, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 126 things to do in Sarasota
Attraction details
Jerusalem
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Ride Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Running south of Sarasota to Venice, the Legacy trail presents a changing environment of woodlands, water, savannah, and (best of all) a ziggurat-styled bridge over I-75 just north of Venice. There's a 15 mph speed limit, which can be ignored with impugnity, must watch out for jackalopes and interlopers on the roadway.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    63
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Venice station North10 miles - bring your own food - no snacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The old train station makes a great start/stop point for a bicycle ride. The restrooms are well maintained but could use some general cleaning. Water fountains are conveniently located on both sides of the building. The parking lot is large and feels safe. We have been on this trail from end-to-end but this time was different in that we were not as prepared as we usually are and we noticed the lack of convenient places to get snacks and drinks. The only place we saw - a small hot dog shop, was closed. It said open daily but maybe that doesn't include Sunday! The trail was quite busy. We were not able to comfortably ride side-by-side because of oncoming and passing bike traffic. There is not much to block a north/south wind and we struggled as the wind picked up.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I always love to ride the trail. Very scenic and on this overcast day there were not many people out biking. It sometimes get a bit busy.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“a pleasant little trail to walk, ride a bike, or simply exercise in general”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We live very close to the Legacy Trail. It's pretty good for cycling, walking, or just looking at nature. Nothing that special but away from traffic.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Bike Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have ridden this trail many times. My favorite ride is from Sarasota to Venice or Venice to Sarasota depending which way the wind is blowing. The north end is more wilderness and I have seen fox, hawks, eagles, turtles and other wildlife too numerous to mention. My favorite parts are the two bridges over Donna Bay and Roberts Bay where you can stop for some great views of the waterways.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legacy Trail also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Legacy Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.