We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, beautiful area, tough parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Steakhouse & Sushi Bar - CLOSED

Tango Steakhouse & Sushi Bar
326 John Ringling Boulevard, Sarasota, FL 34236
(941) 554-4916
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Ringling
Transit: SCAT, Ritz Carlton Shuttle
Blacksburg, Va
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful area, tough parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Got to this place early and got 20%off. The food was great, well presented, and the service very good. I had scallops and my companion a cowboy ribeye and we were both happy. stopped upstairs for a drink where they have a less expensive, bar food type menu.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    5
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Don't settle for Tango, even when you're starving!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having just arrived from a long day of traveling on 3/14, seven of us needed to eat sooner than later so headed for St. Armands. We had limited options due to the crowds at most of the restaurants so we settled for Tango because they had no wait and were only half full. We had 2 people waiting on us which turned out to be the first mistake because they did not communicate what we had already ordered and ended up missing drinks and then we received our appetizers twice. The shrimp cocktail we ordered was less than average which we all tasted and agreed. We had to remind our waiter several times about the missing ginger ale and finally received it about 35 mintes after the inital order was taken. Keep in mind the restaurant was not busy and as patrons entered, they stood there waiting to be seated. We noticed a couple sitting behind us that seemed frustrated with the lack of service and ended up getting their check after appetizers and leaving. We ordered 3 entrees and an order of calamari as a main meal which was luke warm at best when we received it. The waiter was kind enough to remove this from the bill when we brought it to his attention. The Chimichurri steak was a little tough, but good while the New York strip was just okay with no zip or flavor. The chicken dish was the best item we had and was good. Overall the waiter was extremely nice however we all thought we were on a hidden camera show.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go there. Now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous dinner at the bar. Husband had pork chops; I had steak au poivre. Both superb. Already booked the next reservation. A real find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning added *injury* to insult”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I write this while STILL suffering horrible case of food poisoning. Both of us got sick, and that was the final insult, coming on a couple hours after they cooked both meals incorrectly, repeatedly made mistakes and brought the wrong items. They acknowledged overcooking one steak but the manager rudely suggested that we didn't know enough about how steaks are cooked to know that the other one was wrongly prepared as well, even though it was clearly overcooked! Half of the other food was barely warm, not even approaching hot (perhaps the source of the food-borne illness?) One of my worst restaurant experiences in memory. Strongly advise avoiding Tango, especially if you value your health. Even without food poisoning, I would never have eaten there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun, casual diinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went with a large group and there were two other large groups there at the same time. We had great service but apparently that wasn't the case with the other groups. The menu had a lot to offer and the food was fine. I had salmon which was grilled nicely. My husband had the scallops which he enjoyed. Portions were sizeable. The Chicken Parmesan apparently wasn't a great choice as two people ordered that and weren't thrilled. It's a tiny little place but had a good atmosphere. I would try it again without the large group just so I can focus a little more attention on the overall experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango Steakhouse & Sushi Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.