We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was reluctant, but glad we went.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary

Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary
7101 Palmer Blvd, Sarasota, FL 34232
(941) 371-6377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 49 Attractions in Sarasota
Attraction details
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Was reluctant, but glad we went.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The brochure and website looked a little sketch, but glad we went anyway. Handsome the lion king was a sight to see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    57
    32
    6
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“an afternoon with the grandchildren”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our grandchildren visiting fromn Denver came along on an afternoon outing of the Big Cat Habitat. It was a pleasant experience but frankly nothing special since Denver has an outstanding zoo.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big Cats. Need we say more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What an opportunity to see big cats and other large animals up close and to see a nice animal circus-style show. The habitat takes in retired big cats, bears, and other animals and provides a great place for them to "retire" with human interaction that they are accustomed to.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first time visiting the Habitat and it was really nice. We did not realize how big the Sanctuary was. Lots of lions and tigers and bears!(Oh My!) Only $15 per person for the sunset safari which is 4:30 til 7:00. But the money goes to a good cause as it costs a lot to keep all the animals fed. Bring sunblock, umbrella and a small towel to keep the sweat off your brow cuz it can get hot. You can feed the bears, goats, tigers and lions and there are other numerous animals all over the facility. Good place for all ages. Hit Detwilers Market while your around there which is also on Palmer Road. The circus show at the Sanctuary is a bit drawn out but they are trying to raise more donations for the animals. Definitely worth going.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wild animals up close and personal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The opportunity to feed a bear was a thrill for my 9 year old granddaughter. We were all impressed with the caring and love fr the animals exhibited by the Rosaire family members and all the staff. The show was totally entertaining. We will return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.