We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to help rescue animals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary

Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary
7101 Palmer Blvd, Sarasota, FL 34232
(941) 371-6377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 49 Attractions in Sarasota
Attraction details
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great way to help rescue animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The show in the arena was very fun! The cats & bears are HUGE! The goats & emu are adorable! This is a true animal welfare habitat. The cages were very clean & the animals really looked well cared for.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    57
    32
    6
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fun way to spend your day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Big Cat Habitat is a really fun way to spend your day - take the kids, bring the inlaws, make a day of it! The cages are clean, the staff is knowledgeable and friendly, and you leave knowing all of the animals are cared for in the very best way possible. This place is a gem!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Did not enjoy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I did not enjoy this place at all. The animals like bears live in self build and unprofessional cages. I do not think the animals are happy in this place either. I strongly think somebody here takes the cash but does not invest in the animals! A money making machine. It looks like people pay for everything 20$ these days without even thinking if it is worth it. 50$ for a family of 3 for this habitat! No! We had some bad luck also: thunder was coming up and it rained like crazy. It took them a while to arrange to get us inside of a building. It would not stop to rain but there was no offer whatsoever of getting tickets for another day! how unprofessional! we all had to just go home! Everything looked dirty and not well taken care off. The woman who took the cash on the other hand was wearing an unbelievable amount of gold and jewelry. I wonder if this is where the money goes!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Brings out the Kitty lover in you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Big Cat Habitat and more.....
We had a great time!
Wonderful day and show!
Thank- you
Bears, Birds, Lions Tigers and much much more!
Must do!
Will be back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have you ever hugged an Emu? Here's your chance! This is a great experience for adults and children. It's intimate and really fun. Some people complain about the $15 cost, but that money doesn't even begin to pay for all the food the big cats eat. Enjoy the experience and know that you are helping rescued animals at the same time! I love it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Cat Habitat and Gulf Coast Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.