We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run, don't walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of meLange

meLange
1568 Main Street, Sarasota, FL
941.953.7111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 832 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Tapas, Eclectic, Bar, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our second time dining here and the experience remains delightful. I do not understand why on each visit most tables are empty. There are few restaurants in the area with such an eclectic menu, combining numerous ingredients in different ways, while not losing the taste of any of them in an array of highly creative, well-prepared dishes such as duck brie crepes, mushroom strudel, mini-cheeseburgers, branzino and vanilla lavender creme brulee. The variety of small plates, reasonably priced, provides the diner with an almost unlimited variety of intriguing flavors. The fairly priced wine list contains enough selections to complement the myriad flavors of the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    7
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food/flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went w party of four after twilight golf. Surprised to find the restaurant, didn't know it was there. We shared several small plates, including crab w ginger bisque, mushroom strudel, spicy tuna w avocado, short ribs. All were very good..we would order each and every one again. We did not try dessert, however the table next to us had bread pudding, creme brulee and flourless chocolate cake and they reported all were outstanding. Not crowded, even in late March, great service.

Reservations? - yes!
Open late? - until 2AM!! (very unusual in a town where everyone says "9:30 is Sarasota midnite") They get the restauranters, after closing their own places..tells you something about the food.

Kudos and congratulations to Lan, the wonderfully creative chef. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
“Had Dinner Twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went to Sarasota for the weekend and found this on tripadvisor. Made reservations for sunday, and for the nine course tasting on Monday. Sunday we all ordered and shared the small plates. The cocktails were very thought through and inventive. The oysters were incredible! Living on the coast I've come to expect good seafood, but theirs were the tops! The mignonette they paired with it was delectable! The mushroom streudel was delicious also, so rich! Our server was very informed about all aspects of our dining experience. So the second night we went with the 9 course tasting. First, for 60 dollars, that's a deal. Most places would give you four courses for double that. An additional 25 dollars allowed us a wine pairing. The best thing was that they weren't wines by the glass and had a lovely cotes du rhone. They heard that I love pork belly the night before so made sure we had a plentiful portion. Only thing about the dish was that the skin could've been crispier. I know a chef who braises it, vacuum seals it, then sears it skin side down, finishes it in the oven, and then the salamander. But that's me being picky. Our server was extremely knowledgeable with both the wine and dishes. Excellent service worthy of a 5 diamond establishment. I will be dining there again on my next trip to Sarasota!! Truly worth visiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We tried Melange at the end of our trip, so couldn't go back for more! The small plates were so rich that two were all two of us could eat. We had the mushroom strudel and the duck and brie crepes. We took the blue crab ginger soup home and it was also delicious. Our waitperson spent a lot of time telling us about the menu and recommended we start with the two dishes because they were rich and hearty. He was right. We had planned to get four dishes and could only eat the two. Even with a glass of wine the bill was incredibly inexpensive. Go early in your trip and I'll bet you'll return!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mostly Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First trip to Melange, the new concept by Lan Bradeen on Main Street.

It’s REALLY easy to miss—in fact, I never saw the signage for it. The exterior is a bit barren, and the frosted glass windows don’t give you a hint of what’s inside. Though after you ARE inside, and people park in front of the restaurant with their brights on, you are glad the windows are masked!

Her food is still quite good, full of flavor. This “small plate” concept here is more like half entrees or generous apps – the wild boar was lean and meaty, with a savory brown sauce, served with broccoli rabe and crisp roasted potatoes. We tried a variety and shared – ordering 1 plate, per person, shared, was a perfect light meal. Good wine selection, overall moderately priced – a good value.

Service was well informed, pleasant, and responsive. All the servers that “teamed” on our table were good, not a bad attitude in the group.

Only big disappointment was the décor. The old décor felt a bit disco 80s, but the new, with grey walls, some pastiche of also-grey sawed 2x4s lined up as wall art – black barely padded chairs, bright white tables….dreary. Some lighting design and some color or artwork would really brighten this up and help the dining mood. It felt depressing.

Would come back for the food and service, both quite good—but would not bring guests—the décor is just not up to par.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed meLange also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to meLange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage meLange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.