We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of meLange

meLange
1568 Main Street, Sarasota, FL
941.953.7111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 843 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Tapas, Eclectic, Bar, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

pleasing to the eye and electrifying to the taste buds. four of us made quite a dent into this eclectic and most satisfying menu ---- venison sausage over pasta, branzino, wild boar, short ribs, vc sandwich, well priced wine list and , of course, a wonderful dessert (chocolate wonderful ).
the small plates are not so small, but we mananged..the staff is knowledgeable and extremely pleasant.
trying to figure out how many more times we can go in the next 2 weeks

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    8
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Interesting food, could use a little spark.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Party of 4 with reservations. We were seated right away, atmosphere of the restaurant is interesting. Smell of incense is a bit overwhelming. Started with Ragoons, Duck Springrolls and Rabbit Tacos. Ragoons were not very crisp and underwhelming. Duck in the Springrolls had a good flavor, Rabbit Tacos were ok. Tomato Bisque was quite good, nice balanced flavor and texture. 2 of us had Wild Boar, 1 Quail, 1 Branzino. Wild Boar had an interesting flavor to it - perhaps it was the star anise that was a bit offputting. Branzino was delicious but sauce was drizzled over the skin which I chose not to eat. Overall was a nice different menu experience but nothing really "popped" for us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cound
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed just wish we had been hungrier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We asked the concierge at The Ritz for a late night place "light meal" as we were somewhat "fooded out". He suggested meLange which was walkking distance from the hotel, so again no driving no taxi. It was more a cafe style place than a formal restaurant but nevertheless very pleasant. It was not very busy so that always worries me but it was after Xmas and New Year,. Also it also turned out to be open until 2 AM, so perhaps that was why, as it is a late night place to eat. Anyway the greeting and service were very pleasant. the menus and wine list were good and as we were not that hungry we could choose from the Tapas style menu. Our favourites were the amazing Duck Spring rolls, the corn fritters and the bread pudding. This is a place that will be on our list next time in Sarasota and we will make sure we are "hungrier" as the menu choice was great. Also not expensive!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've eaten at meLange several times and the food has been consistently delicious and the staff warm and friendly. I manage an organic farm so I tend to be very picky about the freshness of my food and I've not yet had a dish that I felt was less than excellent quality. The braised wild boar is my hands down favorite dish. I'd eat it every day if I could.

If you have the time and stomach for it I highly recommend the chef's tour. We tried the tour with wine pairings for a large group of people and we all still talk about the meal. Each dish was interesting, carefully prepared and presented. One member of our group had a gluten allergy and Lan was very accommodating and offered a gluten free option with each course.

MeLange is easily the most interesting restaurant in Sarasota with the most delightful ownership and staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Phenomenal !! Fabulous!! Don't miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I will say that I've walked past this place hundreds of times, and always "wondered" what it was like?! Upon walking in and taking a peak at the menu, it appeared that everything looked great.. and we tried four "small plates" which was great for 2 people. Great variety of wines.. full bar (a plus!) ... and the rest is history!! We plan on making this a "regular" dining experience, and it now is on my top 10 Sarasota restaurants... Fresh, taste buds "tingled", and the best service on top of it?! WOW.. wish we tried it sooner?!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed meLange also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to meLange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage meLange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.