We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Farmer's Market” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Detwilers Farm Market

Detwilers Farm Market
6000 Palmer Blvd, Sarasota, FL 34240
(941) 378-2727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Shopping in Sarasota
Attraction details
Sarasota, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch Farmer's Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We first started buying produce from Detwiler's in 2004 when they were located on Fruitville and have not stopped. Even tried their new Venice location yesterday. To put it in a nutshell - Henry has the best produce at the best prices with the friendliest and most helpful staff of any market I have tried. Their deli is superior and their new fresh fish section is equally high quality.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great family run market where every employee is so inviting and accommodating. Almost all produce is 50 cents a pound cheaper than any grocery store. Lots of local and hard to find products. The best buy is the .99 scoop of Big Olaf ice cream in a cup or cone. The scoop is huge. Bought some scrapple at the deli and fried it up. First time we had scrapple and it was pretty darn good with fried eggs and toast for breakfast. Good seafood selection. Bought some head on shrimp and steamed them and they were great. Most of the fish like grouper and sea bass is 3 to 5 dollars cheaper a pound than other top markets around. Great parmesan cheese rolls in the bakery section. It's a must go. Say Hi to Hank in the seafood dept. Great guy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A disgusting dirty bug infested place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

People please look closer. Flies, fruit flies, filth and produce from China! The shrimp at $12.99 were soggy when cooked which means frozen and/or not fresh. I am taking the rest back. Why do they have produce from New Zealand??? I will NEVER go back there again. It was disgusting. They advertise Amish, but the only thing Amish is a few backed and canned goods.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“They've added a fresh wild caught seafood case!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This Amish/Mennonite market now has a great fresh fish (mostly wild caught) and shell fish case. Stopping by the other day, there was fresh wild grouper, two kinds of snapper, cod, flounder and a few others, I believe and farm raised salmon plus many types of shell fish, all at reasonable prices.

I also noticed a freezer of organic fed frozen beef. Don't forget on those really hot days to stop by the ice cream and shake counter for a cooling treat : - )

Echoing everyone else, their fruits and vegetables are superior. I once had some strawberries go bad in one day and upon my return the following week, they replaced them at no cost with no questions asked. The employees are friendly and helpful.

NOTE: The above photo is their old location.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great indoor farmers market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This market is family run with care and knowledge. Wonderful farm stuff.
Fruit, veggies, jams, deli. etc.
Never been disappointed. Once got a bad watermelon and they replaced it when I told them about it. Prices are the best in town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detwilers Farm Market also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Detwilers Farm Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detwilers Farm Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.