We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love LOVE LOVED our stay here! Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of the Sun Condo Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Sun Condo Resort
Save Saved
You added House of the Sun Condo Resort to your Saves list
6518 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love LOVE LOVED our stay here! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stepped foot into our condo unit and just fell in love with our mostly dolphin themed place! We saved so much money by cooking in our very spacious unit. As a family of 5 our unit was so comfortable and it was less expensive to stay here for 1 week! (I had recently checked out some local hotels, which were going to cost $200 MORE for only 4 days! This was a great find!) Our unit could comfortably have slept 6.

It was awesome to have a washer and dryer in the kitchen to quickly take care of our wet beach clothes!

At one point we had issues with kids running in the hallways and people playing their guitars. We also had a small issue with the clothes dryer and a towel rack; however, the front desk staff is very very pleasant and quick to take care of things. We were very pleased with their service!

Our kitchen was awesome-it had so many different utensils, a blender for frozen drinks AND a crock pot! It was great to throw things together early in the morning, leave for the beach for a few hours and then come back to warm home cooked food! It was great not to have to wait for restaurant service!

The master bedroom was huge and I did read some reviews complaining about the early morning sun, but this was not an issue with us. Our room was kept quite dark by the window treatments!

Having 2 bathrooms was awesome as well because upon returning from the beach the 5 of us could get our showers done quicker!

The family who owns our unit even left us with a boogie board, frisbee and chairs. We actually used the chairs on the beach from our hotel so that we didn't have to lug out the chairs from our unit, but they were available if we needed them!

Our unit had everything-vacuum cleaner, broom, ice chests, extra blankets. Lots of towels, but they were the white bath towels; therefore, I had brought extra beach towels and we used those at the beach instead.

We ended up going to Walmart (about 15 minute drive from House of the Sun) to purchase a beach cabana. This was great to have at the beach. If you have one, bring it!

Our condo unit was in the middle of the building on the 4th floor. I highly recommend getting a 4th or 5th floor unit, which will provide you with quite a view of the gulf. The closer to the beach you get the units get more expensive.

We arrived on the 4th of July and although check in was in the late afternoon, we were able to get in hours earlier! The place was packed and the 4th July made this a very happening place to be! Fireworks were going off all over the beach and over in Siesta Key beach area as well! Personally, I liked Crescent beach, which runs into Siesta Key, because it didn't seem as crazy busy once the holiday was over. We were also lucky because with our young children on the beach we were a little nervous with all the crazy fireworks going off so we returned to the deck of the hotel to view all the fireworks more safely.

One day we went to Mote Aquarium...I had found a $2 off the ticket price for a combo Aquarium and EcoBoat Tour-it was SO WORTH IT! We saved $10 with the coupon (See their office for coupons!). We had a FAB time! This is definitely recommended by us!

We went down into the Siesta Village, which is very close....a very short drive, but drive it if you have a car. Do not take the little buses/carts down there if you'd like to save a few dollars. The village is small and touristy. There are shops and restaurants; however, we ate mostly at our condo to save money!

Another day we drove down to Venice to go to Caspersen Beach (AKA Shark's tooth beach). It's about 20-25 minutes away. We were there for 15 minutes and then it started to rain.

FYI-in Florida during our week stay it rained nearly every afternoon-We were at House of the Sun from July 4-July 11 and it rained for short clips of time. Then we spent 1 week in Kissimmee and it rained very often for long periods of time in the afternoon so check your Florida weather.

To sum things up...my family and I give House of the Sun 5* for their great location, crushed quartz cool beach sand/clean beach, clean rooms and friendly service! If you want to go when it's not too crazy there, try to go during the times that don't include the 4th of July. It got so peaceful when everyone left!

Room Tip: Our Gulf View Room (South Side) was perfect! You could see the beach from our balcony very well and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have been going to House Of The Sun since 1986. We tried other places in the Florida Gulf , and this is second to none. Excellent location , friendly people, and just a relaxing vacation.We have met many people there from other countries , and see them the same time of year . The gulf is clean , and very like the caribbean water. Close by excellent restaurants, stores,etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on North side have a better view of gulf. We like the 4th or 5th floor rooms for the view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was the second consecutive year that we vacationed in Siesta Key. We chose to stay at the House of the Sun again this year, after having been pleased with our stay in 2013. I believe the floor plans of the units are basically the same, but are decorated and equipped differently, based on the individual condo owners. Check out the website and you can view photos of the available units.

We chose to stay in the same unit during both of our visits. Some things showed signs of a year's worth of wear - like the furniture in the sitting room. Also, the kitchen did not seem to be as well-equipped as before. Other than those minor details, we were again quite happy with the unit.

The property itself is well-secured. The pool is kept very clean; sparkling, clear water with no unpleasant chemical odor. The only problem with the pool is it is frequently 'taken over' by noisy children. We only used the pool one afternoon because it was so windy that we didn't want to go to the beach.

Speaking of the beach, the stretch of beach where the House of the Sun is located is just beautiful. Powdery, soft sand that doesn't get hot.

Just across the street are several bars and restaurants, a small grocery store, a drug store, ice-cream place, gift shops, places to rent kayaks, etc.

If you are interested in the shops and restaurants in the Village, it is just a short drive north.
It's also a short drive over the bridge to more shops and restaurants and a Publix grocery store in Sarasota.

If all goes as planned, we will be back for a third visit next year!

Room Tip: Suggest staying in units that are closer to the beach if you want to avoid hearing the music from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Family holiday in sunny Sarasota. Booking was easy but had to book months ahead.
Lovely apartment though we went for a slightly cheaper option we still had a view of the sea and could sit out on a balcony
Lovely rooms - enough for 6 of us
Good size bedrooms and 2 bathrooms
All mod cons
The apartments have a small pool and tennis court
There is parking and direct access to a lovely beach
There is an area on the top floor t see the sun set
Lots of places nearby to shop and eat and easy to get into Sarasota and its attractions though there is enough to do on Siesta Key
The managing staff are very helpful - helped us find roll up bed, child car seat, guided us for food etc.
A really great place to stay,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmer, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This exceptionally clean facility seems to be convenient to everything. The fantastic beach is just steps from the elevator. Across the street are several bars, restaurants, a 7-11, ice cream parlor, small grocery store, post office, drugstore, and several gift shops - all within a short walk. The shopping district on Siesta is a couple of miles up the street and across the bridge are the restaurants, food stores, and mall in Sarasota. The units are individually owned, so the furnishings are different, but we have stayed twice and never had a problem.

Room Tip: we prefer rooms on the end near the beach to avoid the noise from the sniki tiki bar across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

What we once thought was a beautiful complex and perfect for our family, quickly turned into very dissappointing time. Upon entering our unit for the first time, I opened the sliding glass doors only to have the handle break off in my hand! I immediately notified the office, they apologized for the inconvenience and said they would prepare a maintenance work order. I thought nothing of it again, until 3 weeks upon my return home when I received the return of my security deposit LESS the handle repair charges. The office was well aware that the condition of the room was not up to the high standards that it should've been upon check in and I was appalled to be charged for this. I have been coming to Siesta Key for 25 years and have never been so disgusted with office staff. Although the complex is beautiful, be careful!!! And if you see something wrong with your unit upon check in, don't be honest! Nice guys finish last at the House of the Sun!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the house of the sun unit number 301 during our 2014 spring break. Overall a wonderful facility,a great unit, and terrific location. We started each day having breakfast in our 2bdrm 2 bath condo. Then an easy walk downstairs to the beach where chairs were provided. The beach was beyond description...beautiful sand & clear water. Lunch back in the condo in a terrific kitchen. The location on the island was perfect. Easy to get off the island or to walk across the street to shops and decent eateries. Sunsets were awesome. Pool tennis grill and gameroom all on site. We hated leaving. One interesting observation...all units were decorated and even laid out differently. Some nicer than others. If you look here for a place, pay attention to the units pictures and descriptions.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of the Sun Condo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Sun Condo Resort

Address: 6518 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Number of rooms: 58

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of the Sun Condo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.