We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Gulf location in Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of the Sun Condo Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Sun Condo Resort
Save
You added House of the Sun Condo Resort to your Saves list
6518 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Gulf location in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have been going to House Of The Sun since 1986. We tried other places in the Florida Gulf , and this is second to none. Excellent location , friendly people, and just a relaxing vacation.We have met many people there from other countries , and see them the same time of year . The gulf is clean , and very like the caribbean water. Close by excellent restaurants, stores,etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on North side have a better view of gulf. We like the 4th or 5th floor rooms for the view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbertsville, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was the second consecutive year that we vacationed in Siesta Key. We chose to stay at the House of the Sun again this year, after having been pleased with our stay in 2013. I believe the floor plans of the units are basically the same, but are decorated and equipped differently, based on the individual condo owners. Check out the website and you can view photos of the available units.

We chose to stay in the same unit during both of our visits. Some things showed signs of a year's worth of wear - like the furniture in the sitting room. Also, the kitchen did not seem to be as well-equipped as before. Other than those minor details, we were again quite happy with the unit.

The property itself is well-secured. The pool is kept very clean; sparkling, clear water with no unpleasant chemical odor. The only problem with the pool is it is frequently 'taken over' by noisy children. We only used the pool one afternoon because it was so windy that we didn't want to go to the beach.

Speaking of the beach, the stretch of beach where the House of the Sun is located is just beautiful. Powdery, soft sand that doesn't get hot.

Just across the street are several bars and restaurants, a small grocery store, a drug store, ice-cream place, gift shops, places to rent kayaks, etc.

If you are interested in the shops and restaurants in the Village, it is just a short drive north.
It's also a short drive over the bridge to more shops and restaurants and a Publix grocery store in Sarasota.

If all goes as planned, we will be back for a third visit next year!

Room Tip: Suggest staying in units that are closer to the beach if you want to avoid hearing the music from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Family holiday in sunny Sarasota. Booking was easy but had to book months ahead.
Lovely apartment though we went for a slightly cheaper option we still had a view of the sea and could sit out on a balcony
Lovely rooms - enough for 6 of us
Good size bedrooms and 2 bathrooms
All mod cons
The apartments have a small pool and tennis court
There is parking and direct access to a lovely beach
There is an area on the top floor t see the sun set
Lots of places nearby to shop and eat and easy to get into Sarasota and its attractions though there is enough to do on Siesta Key
The managing staff are very helpful - helped us find roll up bed, child car seat, guided us for food etc.
A really great place to stay,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmer, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This exceptionally clean facility seems to be convenient to everything. The fantastic beach is just steps from the elevator. Across the street are several bars, restaurants, a 7-11, ice cream parlor, small grocery store, post office, drugstore, and several gift shops - all within a short walk. The shopping district on Siesta is a couple of miles up the street and across the bridge are the restaurants, food stores, and mall in Sarasota. The units are individually owned, so the furnishings are different, but we have stayed twice and never had a problem.

Room Tip: we prefer rooms on the end near the beach to avoid the noise from the sniki tiki bar across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

What we once thought was a beautiful complex and perfect for our family, quickly turned into very dissappointing time. Upon entering our unit for the first time, I opened the sliding glass doors only to have the handle break off in my hand! I immediately notified the office, they apologized for the inconvenience and said they would prepare a maintenance work order. I thought nothing of it again, until 3 weeks upon my return home when I received the return of my security deposit LESS the handle repair charges. The office was well aware that the condition of the room was not up to the high standards that it should've been upon check in and I was appalled to be charged for this. I have been coming to Siesta Key for 25 years and have never been so disgusted with office staff. Although the complex is beautiful, be careful!!! And if you see something wrong with your unit upon check in, don't be honest! Nice guys finish last at the House of the Sun!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the house of the sun unit number 301 during our 2014 spring break. Overall a wonderful facility,a great unit, and terrific location. We started each day having breakfast in our 2bdrm 2 bath condo. Then an easy walk downstairs to the beach where chairs were provided. The beach was beyond description...beautiful sand & clear water. Lunch back in the condo in a terrific kitchen. The location on the island was perfect. Easy to get off the island or to walk across the street to shops and decent eateries. Sunsets were awesome. Pool tennis grill and gameroom all on site. We hated leaving. One interesting observation...all units were decorated and even laid out differently. Some nicer than others. If you look here for a place, pay attention to the units pictures and descriptions.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have been to this location many times over the years and will continue to come back! It's become our home away from home. The condo units are beautiful and well updated, the beach is unparalleled, with its white, powdery-soft sand, and the pool at the condo is very nice and situated right between the condo building and the beach itself! The hallways are always clean, it's quiet, and it is located at a perfect spot, not to far from the airport, and just a quick ride or spirited walk to the village for shopping and dining fun!

Room Tip: Try to choose a unit that is located closer to the front, towards the beach. You will have a nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of the Sun Condo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Sun Condo Resort

Address: 6518 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Number of rooms: 58

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of the Sun Condo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.