We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place keeps getting better and better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Pelican

Lucky Pelican
6239 Lake Osprey Dr, Sarasota, FL 34240-8433
941-907-0589
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 794 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“This place keeps getting better and better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm ambivalent about giving them 5 stars only because a part of me wants the LP to be a well kept secret! If people knew how good the food was, they'd be swamped. We usually go there for lunch and are never disappointed. This time we went for dinner and were blown away. We ordered the sake glazed sea bass with stir fried veggies over a vegetable pancake and the panko seared halibut with vegetables and bistro potatoes. Both were specials that night and both we superb! The portions of fish were huge. The chilean sea bass was so buttery and wonderfully flavored with the sake/miso glaze that it melted in your mouth. The sauteed vegetables and vegetable pancake were wonderful as well. The halibut was lightly pan seared, fresh, moist and flaky. It came in a wonderful sauce of tomatoes, capers and cream. The bistro potatoes were crisp not greasy and the broccoli rabe was done just right. A truly memorable meal. We've always found their seafood dishes to be great. This time they took it up a notch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    111
    22
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Casual dining place, crowded, fresh seafood. Menu had a good variety, including some non-seafood items. Service and atmosphere are very average, not located on the water so no scenery. You go here for the food, nothing else, it is solid seafood that is fresh and cooked well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place was busy! We had fresh fish with sweet potato fries and coleslaw for a late lunch and were lucky to get a seating. They offer a New England lobster roll on various days and I can't wait to try it. My neighbor went there Saturday evening but the line was too long. The secret is out. The Lucky Pelican has been recommended by our new friends here in LWR including our bank employees!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stay Away! (so I can get a table!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Don't go to this restaurant! If you like chain restaurants and fast food. The fish is fresh, and everything is cooked with a creative flair. I never liked swordfish, but I tasted my wife's. It was fresh and perfectly cooked. Their lobster roll is every bit as good as one in New England, with lots of succulent chunks flowing over the roll. If you order the Key lime pie, make sure that you have three other people to help you eat it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a great find......we have been here about six times in the past two months and it just
keeps getting better. Their mussels and oysters are simply outstanding. You can sit
outside for a light supper...and happy hour is a must. Or you can dine inside. We have
eaten in both places for lunch and dinner with guests and alone. We have never been
disappointed. The lobster dinner was great,as was the lobster roll enjoyed by my husband.
Our son had the grouper special,which was outstanding.Salads are very tasty. They also have a great wine selection.The fresh fish......and raw oyster bar are the best in the area. Service is excellent. We highly recommend this great little restaurant. It is a favorite with the locals and
tourists.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Pelican also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lucky Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.