We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Mexican!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burritos Mexican Grill

Burritos Mexican Grill
2700 Stickney Point Rd, Sarasota, FL 34231-6022
+1 941-922-3888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 835 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Burritos Mexican Grill has been serving up "All Natural Foods" since 1995 - Sarasota's longest established Mexican Restaurant! Burritos restaurant serves up foods that are cooked in house using no added preservatives, NO MSG, NO lard, and NO cans. Patrons appreciate the casual dining, good prices, large servings, and wide drink selection. "Better Quality & More Quantity" is our Motto. Tank-tops, flip flops, and bikinis always welcome. FREE WIFI Available, Sports games available on basic channels.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Mexican!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The food was so good. Best Mexican food this side of the Rockies! Lol. They are really very good. Staff from cooks to servers were wonderful! Burritos were huge! If you are in the area you should try. Don't let the smallness of the restaurant fool ya!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We actually happend upon this place by accident but glad we did. The first thing I noticed is that the service was great--- I think we were brought 4 baskets of chips. The second thing I noticed was that the food took some time, not too long though, to prepare. This is good because so many Mexican restaurants have many items heated and ready to put together not unlike a fast food place. Here, however, I could tell the cooks took the time to prepare each dish. It reminds me of the Mexican restaurants that existed about 20 years ago: family-owned, quality food. Finally, the prices are really affordable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice location, good burritos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice location just a few minutes from the beach. Meal was not too expensive and about what you would expect for the money. No frills Mexican food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cardboard mexican food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

After moving to this area about eight months ago, I had been searching for a nice little family Mexican restaurant. So I did an internet search and Burrito's Mexican Grill came up. I read the reviews from their web-site. every one had raved. So, off I go. The reviews said the place wasn't much too look at. Right, it wasn't, but the reviews said the food was worth it! WRONG!!! TERRIBLE! I had ordered the chicken enchilada plate two enchiladas severed with rice and pinto beans, CARDBOARD! My Hubby, Philly cheese steak burrito, one of their specialties, right? WRONG again! His was so terrible, it didn't even taste fresh, worse a frozen burrito from the grocery store would have been better! No joke! I do not know where these reviews even had come from. For that matter where these people have even eaten before! Save your money, your stomach will thank you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Don't really mean to "damn with faint praise" in this title, but it is the best I can say. In a city which thrives on restaurant experiences, why can there not be better Mexican and Chinese offerings? We love Mexican and Tex-Mex and look for every chance we can to get a great "south of the border" meal. If you go, stick with their signature dish - the burrito. I must admit that this dish definitely meets the mark. However, their chips and salsa (which can really set the table on a Mexican meal) are underwhelming - ordinary chips with a salsa that has no kick to it. And when was the last time you could not get Cholulu sauce in a Mexican restaurant - not available here?! The tacos were, again, decent - and the fajitas were pretty good. Get the picture? In a city where really great Mexican food doesn't appear, this may be as good as it gets.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burritos Mexican Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Burritos Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burritos Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.