We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place to go for ice cream & chocolate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilwin's Chocolates

Kilwin's Chocolates
312 John Ringling Boulevard, Sarasota, FL 34236-1321
(941)388-3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Ice Cream in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is THE place to go for ice cream & chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We visited several ice cream shops in St. Armand's Circle, but this is THE BEST! You can watch them making candy and fudge by hand when you walk in, and the shop smells divine. Prices are great, ice cream flavors are plentiful, people are friendly, and when I ate my ice cream in the freshly made cone ---- DIVINE! I've visited this same store on Mackinac Island, and this one had the same great quality. Holy cow it was delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    86
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“A lot of goodies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Located on St Armand's circle
Not too far from tommy Bahama
Huge selection of fudge ice cream
And very good German Marzipan
It is not cheap but you are enjoying the smells the tastes and want more

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Bring your bank account”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I get it that many tourists return here as a vacation habit. The crowd seems to draw you here too, since nowhere else at St. Armands Circle downtown is there a line of for service that spills onto the sidewalk. Much to their credit, Kilwins gives you but one line for service and has plenty of staff to serve you.

Alert, like a cafeteria, you pass the fudge counter first. That brick lasted maybe a day!

The mostly young crowd seemed unaffected by a long line in melt-your-ice cream temperatures. The influx of European tourists was startling; but, resulted in a friendly chat with three girls from London, helping the wait time pass. Were it not mid-evening, I suspect there would have been fewer in the line.

I could not believe the ice cream flavor choices but could then believe why the line moves slowly. How do you get a pre-teen to choose from so many…

The fudge and ice cream are fabulous but, I’m sorry, the value spoils this experience. Really, one ice cream cone for the equivalent of a gallon of Breyer’s ice cream?

Here is a secret. There is a Ben and Jerry’s just down the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not good on a diet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Of course no visit to Lido Beach is without a stop at Kilwin's for my grandsons. I helped myself with my spoon to all their chosen flavours! Great chocolate chunks in there. If the $9.+ per cone doesn't bother you, try it. You can watch them make their famous treats right at the front, samples are available on the counters. I noticed they now weigh the cones before handing it to you. Kind of tacky if paying $9. for a cone, in my book but then again, a good way to keep you away from fats!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for Ice Cream and Fudge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been to this location many times. It always brings a smile to my face. The ice cream is delicious. The selection of chocolate candy is second to none. I really enjoy watching them make the fudge. If you can time your visit right, taking the 10 minutes to watch this process is a treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwin's Chocolates also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kilwin's Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilwin's Chocolates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.