We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Sarasota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sailor Circus

Sailor Circus
2075 Bahia Vista Street, Sarasota, FL 34239
(941)-355-9805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 130 Activities in Sarasota
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This "Circus" is all about kids. No animals. The Sarasota school system allows children to elect circus arts in lieu of physical education. You will be treated to acrobatics, high wire acts , trapeze and much more. A great evening a must see in Sarasota.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    10
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“See it with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you are in town during the Sailor Circus, it is a must see. I fudged on my date, as we haven't been in a few years, but it is spectacular and something you'll never see anywhere else. These kids are fantastic. My kids were fascinated and in awe of young people their ages performing high wire acts, juggling, riding unicycles, on the trapeze, etc. The commitment these kids make to training is enormous and it shows. There is the usual "hawking" of toys, etc. which takes away from the event and can be an irritant to parents, but the circus itself is wonderful and one of a kind. Worth the price at double!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“a classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

new is great, true is better -
seems like it would be outdated but trust me, its not. we are lucky to have it here in Sarasota.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What I wanted to do when I grew up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I always wanted to be in the sailor circus. I love the action and the suspense of the wire, trapeze, and other acts. Also the clowns and also the animals-and junk food. Makes me feel like a kid again. Kids love it but don't miss it just because you're grown up!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greatest Little Show on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Sailor Circus is awesome! You will be amazed at the performances that school kids are able to put on. Very professional. I was in it as a child, my children, nieces, nephews and many friends have been too. It's a great experience to volunteer there as well, there is overwhelming alumni support. The kids work very hard and it shows. It has has also led to life long opportunities for some of them after they have graduated and moved on. It is a must see, you won't be disappointed!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailor Circus also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sailor Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailor Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.