We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures

Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures
100 Taft Street, Sarasota, FL 34236
941.504.6296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 130 Activities in Sarasota
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayaking eco tours and rentals
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Rhinebeck, New York
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I went on both the Mayakka River and the Lido Mangrove Tunnel kayak tours and were extremely fortunate to have Kelly as our guide for both experiences. Considering we are somewhat beginner kayakers, Kelly was extremely patient with us, but at the same time took us on a comprehensive tour. We were able to see an incredible amount of birds on both tours as well as manatee and dolphins on the Lido Mangrove tour and many alligators on the Mayakka River tour. Kelly is extremely knowledgable of the area, the wildlife, and the environment and is a great conversationalist. I was able to take some great pictures along the way. Both tours were the highlight of our trip to Florida and we can't wait to come back and tour again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    10
    4
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great activity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Kelly was a great tour guide and I would recommend requesting him if possible. The mangrove tunnels are so beautiful. We got to see manatees, sea urchins, star fish, and tons of birds. It was a good work out as well!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A fantastic kayaking adventure for all kill levels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went on a delightful 4 mile kayak trip with Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures on Sarasota Bay and through mangrove tunnels. A highlight was watching dolphins feeding very near our boats. We also got a kick out of cormorants which liked to fish under our kayaks because our shadow startles fish out of hiding. The cormorants often pop up right next to the boats, startling us! Our guide, Kelly, showed us sea urchins, a sea star, lightning welks, and a sea cucumber. In the mangrove tunnel, we passed right by a great white egret.

This trip was great for anyone, whether experience kayakers like my husband and me, or beginners like the 10-12 year olds in the group who were having a blast.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This tour was interesting and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We went on the Lido Mangrove Tunnels tour today and our tour was great. Our tour guide, Kelly, was informative and knowledgable about the wildlife as well as a great conversationalist. We were fortunate enough to see the manatee today and in addition, live conch, a type of sea urchin, a variety of birds, and many other interesting animals and sites. It was a great experience! Thanks for the tour!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Great experience. The mangrove tunnels were awesome. We had Kelly as our guide (aka "Sultan"). He was enthusiastic, informative, funny and an overall great guide. As the info indicates, no experience needed. Our group had all ages and abilities, and all had fun. We'd go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.