We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant dining Experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Libby's Cafe & Bar

Libby's Cafe & Bar
1917 South Osprey Ave., Sarasota, FL 34239
+1 941-487-7300
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Libby's Cafe & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 794 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hillview Ave.
Transit: Within 1 block
Description: Lively and casually sophisticated Libby's Cafe + Bar has won over the hearts and palates of Sarasota diners and visitors since opening in October 2008. Its Modern American cuisine includes creative Asian and Italian influences with small and large plate options. Whether it’s enjoying a Happy Hour special, lunch, Sunday Brunch, dinner or a special occasion event in the private dining room, value, quality and service consistency is paramount for this family owned café that thrives on genuine hospitality.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very pleasant dining Experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Food was very good, the service was a little slow. A very nice place with a relaxing atmosphere. Will visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    131
    45
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was our first visit but it won't be our last. Went with friends from the area who recommended it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lively & Enjoyable Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot with a lively (but not obnoxious) clientele. Server was courteous and friendly. Our food was very good and we enjoyed the outdoor seating.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton OH
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Very Nice Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Libby's offers a nice option for small plates and discounted drinks in the bar area for happy hour. We stop by regularly, including a couple days ago. Pretty deserted this time of year (November) although from experience they will be packed when snowbird season gets here.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mound, minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Slow, slow service - disappointing lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our reservation was for 6 adults at 12:30 Sunday afternoon. We finally got our bill at 2:30. The service was so slow, the wait staff ignored us for the most part. The food was very good, but the time we sat and waited for our food was not okay. The manager offered free desserts. We accepted his offer and asked if we could pick up after going to the vintage car show (which ended at 3pm) We returned for the desserts and it took about 20 min. to get that done. So many apologies from manager! This is my second experience at Libby's that makes it difficult to imagine going their again. The food is so good..... but the service is lacking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libby's Cafe & Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Libby's Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libby's Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.