We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-splendid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
1600 Ken Thompson Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-388-4441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 128 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Eco-splendid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Well worth the time and entrance fee to support important research work. Educational, interesting and fun. Hands-on "petting pond" for the kids. Eco-Boat tours, kayaking, shark habitat, dolphins, reef aquarium and my favorite -- beautiful iridescent jellyfish.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    917
    475
    142
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Spend an Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It might be a small aquarium, but the staff and the exhibits are some of the best I've seen. There's no tougher audience than a scuba diver and having been fortunate to have traveled pretty extensively I appreciate what this little aquarium has done.

It's definitely one of Sarasota's treasures with a lot of great exhibits and well-informed staff members who can answer your questions.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The aquarium has 3 separate buildings to visit. I liked the lay out and the fact that the displays were spread out. It was not crowded, which was even better. We saw the movie Red Tide and had the entire theater to ourselves. We saw some rare mammals like a special species of dolphin and a few I've never heard of. My son panned for sharks teeth. Just a great day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This aquarium is not the biggest that we have seen (from Chicago and love the Shedd Aquarium) but it is nice with some cool exhibits. In the main building there are lots of fish to see along with other sea creatures. For your entry fee, you can pet sting rays and walk above the shark tank. Coming from the Shedd (everything extra you have to pay for) this was a treat that was unexpected. There were also lots of sea horses to see that had been saved in the bay, so that was neat too. Also make sure to take the walk across the street to the bird sanctuary and the dolphin/manatee exhibit. It is definitely worth the walk.
The one thing that our family really enjoyed however, was the guided boat tour of the bay. The tour was about 2 and 1/2 hours and was amazing! The guides were very knowledgeable and answered any questions that we had. We saw dolphins in the bay and sting rays jumping out of the water. Not only did we drive around the bay and look at animals, architecture, and islands, on our way back to the aquarium, the guides threw a net into the water and caught a ton of sea creatures from the bay. They then let everyone on the boat touch the creatures and interact with them. This was by far the highlight of our trip to the area. Definitely visit the aquarium, but do not miss the boat tour!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Fun Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was my second visit to the Aquarium, enjoyed both visits! This time my daughter and granddaughter went with me! They both had a great time and want to come back! Can't wait for the rest of my family to visit the aquarium! It is so educational and enjoyable!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.